Skip to main content

ChE 590/690

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have a citation, check to see if the NMSU Library has access tot he full article:


If there is no electronic access, check the library's print collection.

If neither of these options work, you can request the article via the library's

This handout will describe this process in detail.

Keeping Your Research Up to Date

Table of contents / Email Alerting Services

Use the Tables of Contents or Email Alerting Services listed below to keep yourself up-to-date with new literature appearing in your field of interest or simply use them to view the Tables of Contents of your favourite journals at the comfort of your own PC.

Note: These services can be very useful because you can often discover articles of interest more quickly through them than through conventional Abstracting and Indexing Services, which invariably involve delays in the appearance of articles. The services shown below offer online access to the Tables of Contents of a wide range of academic journals, all free of charge.  Also check whether your own favorite journals provide these services.

Wiley Interscience

Springer Alerts

NMSU Databases also allow you to set up alerts, for example:

EI Village / Web of Science / IEEE Xplore

Many NMSU subscribed journals also offer this service, all those published by ASME, for example.

Article Databases

Searching the literature

The databases listed below are some where you may find journal articles and conference papers related to your field. A list of all the engineering-related databases may be found here.

Computers Database  Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection.
 

Emerald Fulltext Library  Provides full text access to over 100 journals in various fields, including Engineering. Coverage years vary by title but most are available from the mid-1990s to the present.

Environmental Engineering Abstracts Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings.

Homeland Security Digital Library Collection  Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.

IEEE Xplore Delivers full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. You may also sign up for alerts.

MathSciNet Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature.

Water Resources Abstracts  This database contains abstracts from journals, conferences and reports covering engineering, scientific and environmental perspectives on water resources. Coverage spans 1967 - present.

Web of Science Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Science Citation coverage begins 1900-. Use Web of Science for: cited reference searching, author finder, address searching, sorting results by times cited and citation reports (h-index).

More Current Awareness Services

Current awareness services are designed to provide up to date information feeds tailored to the specific subject needs of the requester.

RRS Feeds

Keep track of all your blogs and news pages that provide an RSS feed by using an feed reader. There are many free readers available but two that are popular and very easy to set up are:

Bloglines
www.bloglines.com
Feedspot
www.feedspot.com

Once you've copied and pasted the URL of an RSS feed all you have to do is visit the reader and it manages all the feeds you've found in one place. You don't have to seek them out, but they are collected by the reader which usually tells you when there is a new posting, allows you to clip or bookmark a new item, and may have other features as well.

Soon, checking your reader may become as automatic as checking your email and you'll find that you can manage a lot of information very easily.

Look for the web feed logo RSS logo thumbnail (either an 'RSS' or an 'Atom' feed) on web pages to see if there is a feed you can follow.
For more information, see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_feed