Skip to main content

ANTH 505 : Issues in Anthropological Practice

Library Resources for Graduate Study in Anthropology

Get Started in Anthropology Research

Welcome to the research guide for Anthropology.

   Use the menu on the left to find books, articles, websites, and different research tools.

  1. Identify terms related to your interests, fields of study, topics, and specific resources (Subject Browse, Title, Author(s), Journal, Keywords…).
  2. Use these terms to search the NMSU library catalogs and databases.
  3. Check available Research & Course Guides.
  4. Evaluate your sources and build your bibliography.
  5. Use appropriate format for your citations and references.

Choose your topic wisely based on available material!

The NMSU Library Catalog provides access to books, videos, government documents, archive collections, and many other resources. The Catalog is now part of the Primo Discovery System

When searching in Primo you are searching:

  • Books, DVDs, journals and other physical items found in the Library

  • Most of the library's online journal articles and newspaper content

  • The NMSU Library Special Collections and Digital Archives

What else can I do with Primo?

  • Renew materials you checked out, use My Account.

  • Create and save lists, save to My Research.

  • Order books from other libraries in the NMSU system

Best Anthropology Databases

Major databases for journal literature in all sub-disciplines of Anthropology. Each of these sources provides full text (or links to full text) articles from major journals.

Reference Materials

Reference materials provide quick information about your field of study or topic of interest.

Major Anthropology Journals

A brief review of articles published in popular journals may give you some insight into current trends in your field.