Ask a Librarian!
Internet Resources
- Latin America Network Information Center--LANICUniversity of Texas gateway to Latin American countries and academic networks. The foremost internet directory for Latin America.
- Latin American Studies Online Journals (via LANIC)
- Scientific Electronic Library OnlineAccess to fulltext articles from scholarly journals from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Mexico and other Latin American countries.
- Internet Resources for Latin AmericaGuide to many WWW sites, electronic mail lists, newsgroups, etc. Sections devoted to databases and reference tools, online news, organizations, and general resources.
- Cinco Puntos PressUnique voices from the U.S.-Mexico Border!!
- Frontera Norte SurMonthly newsletter with daily updates from the US-Mexico border region.
- Association for Borderlands StudiesScholarly association for the comparative study of international boundaries and border regions.
- Border Book FestivalA celebration of regional literature.
Databases for Latin American and Border Research
Direct links are provided for resources that are available on the WWW. Subscription databases are available to NMSU students, faculty and staff and generally require that you go through a gateway.
- PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) offers full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)Citations to over 400 journals from and about Latin America from 1970 - present.
- Latin America Data Base (LADB)Fulltext articles on Latin American news, economics, politics; 1986 - present.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)Citations and abstracts to social sciences and humanities literature on Latin America from 1935 - present. Produced by the Library of Congress Hispanic Division.
- Informe!Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Full text of popular Hispanic magazines. - ClasePeriodica (Index to Latin American journals)CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
- Chihuahua News DatabaseFulltext articles published in newspapers and magazines from and about the northern Mexican state of Chihuahua, including text of major papers from Ciudad Juarez and the state capital, Chihuahua. Coverage from 1976--present.
General Databases with Latin American Content
See also
- A complete list of Article
Databases available via the NMSU Library
- A complete list of Electronic Journals
- America: History and LifeAccess to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.
- CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972)CAB Abstracts Archive, produced by CABI Publishing, is comprised of 17 printed abstract journals produced between 1910 and 1972 and includes over 1,860,000 records. CAB Abstracts Archive provides information on agricultural science, veterinary medicine, nutrition and natural resources. Additionally, other topics covered in the database include: biodiversity, pest control, environmental pollution, animal diseases, food production, managing natural resources, plant and animal breeding and more.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Dissertation AbstractsCovers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations; available via FirstSearch.
- EconLitContains citations, with abstracts, to articles from more than 600 economics journals. In addition, subject indexing and abstracts of books and subject indexing of dissertation titles are included; 1969 - present; available via FirstSearch.
- Expanded Academic ASAPFull-text articles, abstracts and citations from several thousand academic journals, general periodicals, magazines and newspapers.
- GPO Monthly CatalogIndex to publications of the United States government including congressional hearing reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments and more ; coverage is 1976 - present; available through FirstSearch.
- JSTORArchive of scholarly journals. JSTOR does not include issues from recent volumes, usually the last 2 to 5 years.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic UniverseFull-text access to current news, business, legal, and reference information.
- MLA BibliographyLiterature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over journals and series published worldwide; 1963 - present; available via FirstSearch.
- PAIS InternationalIndex to the literature on public affairs. 1972 - present; available from Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
- SocINDEX SocINDEX is a comprehensive sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895.
- Wilson Select PlusFull text journal database with over 800 high-quality periodicals. Comprised of records from Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts, and Wilson Business Abstracts. 1994 - present; available via FirstSearch.
- WorldCatThe world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century. Includes holdings information from the world's libraries; available via FirstSearch.
United States/Mexico Border Information
- almargen: periodismo de investigacion, medios y literaturaOnline news and feature magazine published in Chihuahua.
- Association for Borderlands StudiesScholarly association for the comparative study of international boundaries. Includes access to the tables of contents of recent issues and a retrospective index to back issues of the Journal of Borderlands Studies
- BIEN! Border Health Information & Education NetworkBIEN! is a health education network funded through a grant from the National Library of Medicine to provide the best in health information free of charge for the people of southern New Mexico, both healthcare consumers and healthcare providers. Includes links to many sites for health information in Spanish.
- AMERICAS ProgramOnline news, opinion and analysis of Latin American affairs and U.S. policy in the hemisphere. See Borderlines for background on borderlands issues. Program of the Interhemispheric Resource Center.
- Borderlands Encyclopedia, via University of Texas at El PasoCompilation of articles and internet links.
- Borderlands Ecotravel
- Border Ecoweb/Ecoweb FronterizaInformation from a variety of US and Mexican government and NGO sources; hosted by San Diego State University.
- Border StudiesAn interactive exhibit presenting the history and culture of the lands and nations bordering Texas and the United States from the 15th Century to the present day. Created by the Texas Humanities Resource Center.
- Diario de JuarezDaily paper from major border city
- Frontera NorteSurMonthly report on the US-Mexico borderlands, with daily updates.
- Herencia del NorteHispanic culture in New Mexico.
- International Boundaries Research UnitReference site for data on borders worldwide from the University of Durham (England).
- Mexican Migration ProjectOnline results of joint research between the Universities of Guadalajara and Pennsylvania on Mexican migration to the US. Contains datafiles for download, oral histories, photographs and retablos on the subject of migration.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Reference & Research Services MSC 3475 New Mexico State University Las Cruces, NM 88003-8006 (575) 646-6931 mollymolloy@gmail.com Frontera List Send Email |
Latin American Countries
- Latin America Countries via LANICUniversity of Texas gateway to Latin American countries and academic networks. The foremost internet directory for Latin America.
- Political Database of the AmericasImportant source for political information and source documents. Includes constitutions, election data, and other information on Latin American governments.
- Online Publications from & about Latin AmericaDirectory of online newspapers and other resources organized by region and country.
Latin American Libraries and Archives
- Latin American Libraries & ArchivesVia UT-LANIC, links to many online library resources and other reference materials from and about Latin America.
- Latin American Collections & Libraries
- Benson Latin American Collection, University of Texas
- Hispanic Reading Room, Library of Congress
- Latin American Library, Tulane UniversityIncludes links to electronic journals relating to Latin America.
- University of Florida, Latin American Collection


Loading...
