Geography

The Companion Encyclopedia of Geographyprovides an authoritative and provocative source of reference for all those concerned with the earth and its people. Examining both physical and human geography and charting human activities within their habitat up to the present day, this Companionalso asks what lies in the future: * A differentiated world * A world transformed by the growth of a global economy * The global scale of habitat modification * A world of questions * Changing worlds, changing geographies * Geographical futures. The forty-five self contained chapters are bound into a unifying whole by the editors' general and part introductions; each chapter provides details of the most useful sources of further reading and research, and the volume is concluded with a comprehensive index. This is an invaluable resource not only for students, teachers and researchers in the academic domain but also professionals in interested commercial and public-sector organisations.

This invaluable dictionary provides comprehensive coverage in one volume of both human and physical geography. For this second edition, existing entries have been fully updated and 1,000 new entries have been added, making this an essential reference for all students of geography, whether atschool or university. Over 6,000 clear and concise definitions Authoritative entries encompass the range of the subject, including cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, and development Up-to-date treatment of topics such as plate tectonics, remote sensing, geographic information systems, and aerial differentiation Factfinder with key economic and population statistics for nearly 40 countries

Widely acclaimed for many years as the standard popular work on the subject, The Penguin Dictionary of Geographyhas been expanded and revised for the third edition to take account of the many developments and new thinking in this fast-changing subject. It gives clear, concise definitions of key concepts in physical and human geography, and is an invaluable source of information and interpretation for students and professionals alike. Explains terms used in human geography, from sociologyto psychology, population studiesto economics Covers terms connected with all aspects of the natural environment, from geologyto ecology, climatologyand hydrologyto soil science Includes discussions of recent developments in feminist geography, sustainability, uneven developmentand globalisation Ranges from core vocabulary to specialist terms and concepts.

This popular guide to the concepts, term and theories of human geography has now been fully revised to reflect recent changes in the nature and practice of human geography. The Dictionary of Human Geography, Fourth Edition, contains a wealth of new material, to ensure that it remains the definitive resource for a new generation of students and teachers.

The third edition of this comprehensive encyclopedic dictionary covers the whole field of physical geography and provides an essential reference for all students and lecturers in this field.

Volume 1, The Explorers, presents more than 950 biographical entries that begin with birth and death dates, nationality, occupations, and areas of the world explored, followed by an account of the subject's exploration activities. Among the explorers who are covered are the well known, such as Neil Armstrong, Ferdinand Magellan, and Ernest Shackleton, but also the less familiar, such as Ahmad Ibn Fadlan (fl. 920s), whose record of his diplomatic mission from Baghdad to Russia and eastern Europe is the earliest account of that region in pre-Christian times, and Koncordie Dietrich (1821-91), a German naturalist whose travels through the Australian outback resulted in the largest collection of flora and fauna assembled by a woman. Entries range from two or three paragraphs to four pages in length and are accompanied by 144 illustrations and photographs. Appendixes list explorers by occupation, by region of activity, by nationality or sponsoring country, and in chronological order by birth date. Volume 2, Places, Technologies, and Cultural Trends, has more than 260 A-Z entries on such topics as Aerial photography, Circumnavigation of the world, Drift ice, Fur trade, Native peoples and exploration, Orinoco River, Virginia Company, and Women explorers. Entries range in length from 2 paragraphs to more than 10 pages and are accompanied by 67 photographs and illustrations and 62 maps. An appendix contains maps by region; by ancient routes in the Mediterranean, Europe, and Asia; by new water routes; and by the interior in Asia, the Americas, the Pacific Ocean and Australia, Africa, the Arctic, and the Antarctic. The volume concludes with a very thorough chronology of exploration, a further reading list for the set, a list of volume 2 entries by subject, and a 35-page cumulative index for both volumes. In both volumes, capital letters are used in the text to designate terms that are also entry headings.

With more than 1,200 entries, the Encyclopedia of Geography reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. The six volumes of this encyclopedia encapsulate a very diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century. This encyclopedia strategically reflects the enormous diversity of the discipline, the multiple meanings of space itself, and the diverse views of geographers. It brings together the diversity of geographical knowledges, making it an invaluable resource for any academic library. The Encyclopedia divides the subject into six broad subject areas: - Physical Geography * Biogeography * Climatology * Geomorphology - Human Geography * Economic Geography * Geographical Theory * Medical Geography * Political Geography * Social and Cultural Geography * Urban Geography - Nature and Society * Agriculture * Environment and People * Hazards and Disasters * Pollution and Waste * Resources and Conservation * Water - Methods, Models and GIS * Cartography * GIS * Qualitative Techniques * Quantitative Models * Remote Sensing - History of Geography - People, Organizations and Movements * Biographies * Geographical Organizations * Political and Economic Organizations * Scientific Organizations * Social Movements Key Features: - The Encyclopedia gives a concise historical sketch of geography's long, rich, and fascinating history - It provides succinct summaries of trends such as globalization, environmental destruction, new geospatial technologies, and cyberspace. - Hundreds of colour illustrations and images are provided that lend depth and realism to the text. - A special map section is included. - It will be available both in print and online.

History, sociology, anthropology and public policy combine to deliver the encyclopedia that has become the standard reference work in American rural studies. From irrigation and marriage to games and mental health, this encyclopedia is the most comprehens

Facts On File's references - Encyclopedia of the First World, Encyclopedia of the Second World, and Encyclopedia of the Third World - have been updated and are now a three-volume set entitled the Encyclopedia of the World's Nations. Each volume covers history, geography, and economics, politics, human rights, and environmental issues, the status of women, and more for every country in the world. The encyclopedia features 191 country-by-country surveys of practical data in more than 30 separate categories. Students, researchers, teachers, and general readers will find an emphasis on tables, charts, lists, and other graphic means of displaying information linked with narrative accounts of each nation's peoples, history, and government.

This book provides full and accurate descriptions of terms commonly used in geographical debates about gender relations. It does not confine itself to short definitions but allows sufficient space to develop an adequate sense of the complexity of the terms covered. Explicitly aimed atgeographers, it includes key concepts and theoretical terms with four levels of entry, from approximately 1500 words for the most important terms, to 50 words for the least significant. Also included is a comprehensive bibliography encouraging readers to seek out seminal texts and reach their ownconclusions. This comprehensive book will be an invaluable reference for all undergraduate students studying geography and gender, enabling them to approach the terminology of feminist theory and ideas with confidence.

Spectacular in scope and visually brilliant, this atlas presents a sweeping history of the American West through more than 600 original, full-color maps and extended captions. From the earliest human inhabitants and the first European explorers to the national parks and retirement resorts of today, this extensive collection chronicles the West from uncharted territory to a well-populated Eden. We bear witness as state lines strike through Native American territories, see the frontier crack open and the railroad's iron belt snake across the Plains, and watch as the West's cities, from Los Angeles to Las Vegas and Albuquerque to Anchorage, rise and prosper. This is the first atlas to compile all the historically significant maps relating to the American West; it includes field sketches of battles, the first maps to show the West, maps depicting mythical rivers and fictional towns, and maps showing early conceptions of California as an island. Distilling many centuries into one fascinating volume, this atlas traces history as redwoods, mountains, and deserts become California, Montana, and Arizona, and offers a rare opportunity to see the west through the eyes of its earliest explorers.

Small & Witherick's highly successful dictionary has already, in its first three editions, proved its value as a comprehensive guide to the key principles, concepts, and terminology of contemporary geography. This new, accessible edition reflects developments in the discipline since 1995. Covering both human and physical geography, this dictionary is an essential reference for undergraduate geography students.

This comprehensive, illustrated almanac is packed with fascinating information about the entire physical world and its peoples and contains hundreds of photographs, drawings, charts, sidebars, maps, and more. Who were the earliest mapmakers? What makes the seasons change? What causes violent weather? What exactly is a mineral? What does a geographer do? Organized into four main parts for easy reference - What is Geography, Physical Geography, Human Geography, and Places - the book provides an answer for every geographic question, from the history of mapmaking to the migration of people around the world to topics such as environmental hazards and cultural identity. The book also provides useful information about the world population, the spread of religion, the growth of cities, the global economy, and the depletion of natural resources. Looking ahead it asks: How many people can the Earth support? Where will they live? What will they do for a living? What languages will they speak? How will the boundaries of nations change in the 21st century? The book includes an extensive flags-and-facts section featuring the flag of every nation in the world, its capital, territories, physical geography, language, economy, and more. It also contains an extensive glossary, lists of sources for further reading, and a complete index.

The 'Collegiate Atlas of the World' opens with an explanation of map data collection via remote sensing and GPS technology and discusses how cartographers process, analyze and interpret these data using GIS technology.

Both an atlas and an encyclopedia, this complete geographical reference provides authoritative full-color maps, detailed entries, and up-to-date statistics for every country in the world. Arranged alphabetically from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe, highlights include: •Full-color topographical maps •Information on each nation's geography, climate, economy, history, and politics •National flags and climate graphs •Urban area and city center maps •96-page world atlas •Full-page satellite images •Index of 35,000 names with latitude and longitude

Designed for anyone interested in the human and physical geography of the Spanish-speaking world, both modern and historical, this dictionary provides more refined and geographically-oriented definitions than general bilingual dictionaries. It contains thousands of words not included in even the best standard bilingual dictionaries. Although the content is not aimed at the specialist, it is assumed that the user has more than an elementary acquaintance with Spanish and wants more than word-for-word matches. With over 26,000 main entries and thousands more subentries, the volume includes enough material for a native English speaker versed in basic Spanish to use it almost exclusively for landscape investigations in the field, library, or archive. It is an essential tool for anyone studying the human or physical geography of the Spanish-speaking world.

The work of 100 professional historians, this revised and updated reference book surveys the full story of mankind. 126 colour spreads has been reviewed in detail by a team of historians, and brought up to date to reflect the latest scholarship. Particular attention has been paid to the collapse of the Soviet Union and the emergence of new states across Eastern Europe. The growth of economic powerhouses in the Far East is also treated in detail, as are major themes of world importance, such as the North/South divide and the resurgence of the Muslim world. new edition. A major feature is the inclusion of 120 new colour illustrations. The cover has also been redesigned.

This encyclopaedia presents an unusual interpretation of geography - including physical, anthropographic and cultural aspects of each continent. Each volume focuses on a different continent and the approach is thematic rather than alphabetical. The purpose of the work is to consider geography according to the combination of factors that tie humans to their environment.

World Geography integrates physical, human, and economic geography. It is designed to meet the needs of students from middle school through college and takes an integrated approach. It divides its space nearly equally among essays on physical, human, and

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world.

First Published in 2000. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.