LibGuides: ENGL 1110G : Rhetoric and Composition: Find Articles

NMSU Library Databases

What are Library Databases?

The databases are online indexes to the contents of journals, magazines, and newspapers. They are what you'd use to find articles on a particular topic. The NMSU Library has access to nearly 150 different databases, many of which are subject-specific. However, there are many that are very useful for basic research needs.

Which Database Should I Choose?

The following databases would be a good to get to know as you work on your research for this class. Remember, every database has a specific purpose. If you aren't finding what you are looking for, you might want to try another database. Or, feel free to ask us!

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
Academic One File This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources in all subjects.
New Mexico Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The electronic editions of record for several New Mexico newspapers.
Lexis-Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current news, business, legal, and reference information.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.

Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.

Subject-Specific Database Lists
Links to and descriptions of all of the Library's databases, sorted by subject.

I have a citation (or, I know exactly what article I want). How do I find the article?

1. See if NMSU has access to it electronically.

NMSU Library Citation Linker
Find a specific journal article, journal or book by citation information. For best results, include a title, ISSN, ISBN, DOI or PMID.
Search electronic journals by Journal Title

2. If is is not available in print, order it via Interlibrary Loan.

Request It!

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Many researchers are finding it handy to use Google Scholar to find references to journal citations. The steps outlined below describe how researchers at NMSU can customize Google Scholar to facilitate exporting the citations to EndNoteWeb.

First, about Google Scholar:

Allows one to search the FULL TEXT of journal articles from thousands of publishers. (The list of publishers that have allowed Google to search behind their firewalls has not been revealed).
You can configure the settings to link to articles for which NMSU Library holds a subscription
Many of the records are just links to citations not to the actual article; you will not be able to download these citations
Read more about Google Scholar: Comparison of Google Scholar, Web of Science, Scopus

Setting the preferences is necessary when using a computer with an off-campus IP address. This will let you use the New Mexico State University Library Full-Text @ NMSU links for citations as well as export the citations to EndNote Basic.

Go to Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com
Click on Settings:

For compatibility with EndNote Basic:
- Under Bibliography Manager, select Show links to Import citations into EndNote.

In the Library Links, search for New Mexico State University. Then choose
- New Mexico State University-Full-Text@NMSU
- Open WorldCat-Library Search