Skip to main content

Bringing the Library to your Students

A collection of resources and tools for faculty teaching online.

Persistent Links

CREATING PERSISTENT LINKS (aka PURLS or PERMALINKS) TO ARTICLES

What are PURLs and Why Should I Use Them?

Persistent URLs (PURLs) provide a direct link to the full text of an article or other information source. Because many databases and electronic resources do not permit you to copy articles and paste them into classes or email messages, linking to PURLs is an option for providing NMSU faculty, staff, and students with access to full-text articles while complying with copyright law and license terms

 How Do I Find a Persistent URL and What does it Look Like?        

The table below describes steps for finding PURLs in major full-text library resources that offer this capability. A PURL will include code that looks like this: http://libezp.nmsu.edu:2048/login?url=. This code is used to direct users to the library’s proxy server so they can sign in using their NMSU username/ID and then connect to the item.

  • Tip: To find out which database includes a particular journal, click the Articles, Books, Journals, etc. link from the Library’s website (http://lib.nmsu.edu) and search for your title in the Electronic Journals list. 
  • Tip: To convert a lengthy PURL to a smaller, more workable one, use TinyURL (http://www.tinyurl.com).
  • Tip: Before sharing your PURLs, check them from an off-campus computer to ensure they work. 

 

Database

Finding/Creating Persistent URLs

EBSCO Databases

1. Find the article you want and click the title.

2. Copy the link from the “Persistent Link to this Record (Permalink)” field and paste it into your reading list.

Emerald Full- Text Library

1. Find the article you want and click the title.

2. Copy the link from the “Article URL” field and paste it into your reading list.

3. Attach the Library’s proxy server prefix to the front of the article URL: http://libezp.nmsu.edu:2048/login?url=

Gale/InfoTrac Databases 

1. Find the article you want and click the title or the Full-text link.

2. Click “Bookmark".

3. Attach the Library’s proxy server prefix to the front of the article URL: http://libezp.nmsu.edu:2048/login?url=

LexisNexis Academic

1. Click the "Copy document link" icon at the top right of the article.

2. Attach the Library's proxy server prefix to the beginning of the link: http://libezp.nmsu.edu:2048/login?url=