LibGuides: Public Health: Materials @ NMSU

Subject Headings

In the Library Catalog, the following subject headings will be useful.

Health and race

Ethnic groups--Diseases

Ethnic groups--Medical care

Indians of North America--Diseases

Indians of North America--Health and Hygiene

Indians of North America--Medical care

Indians of North America--Mental health

Medical anthropology

Minorities--Diseases

Minorities--Health and hygiene

Minorities--Medical care

Minorities--Mental health

African Americans--Diseases

African Americans--Health and hygiene

African Americans--Medical care

African Americans--Mental health

Asian Americans--Diseases

Asian Americans--Health and hygiene

Asian Americans--Medical care

Asian Americans--Mental health

Hispanic Americans--Diseases

Hispanic Americans--Health and hygiene

Hispanic Americans--Medical care

Hispanic Americans--Mental health

Pacific Islanders—Diseases

Pacific Islanders--Health and hygiene

Pacific Islanders--Medical care

Pacific Islanders--Mental health

Books, Journals, DVDs

Clear & Simple: Developing Effective Print Materials for Low Literate Readers
“This guide outlines a process for developing publications for people with limited-literacy skills.”
Dictionary of Environmental Health
Information source for those studying environmental and public health, as well as those involved in the wide-ranging concerns about the environment and its effects on health.
Dictionary of Public Health Promotion and Education: Terms & Concepts
This dictionary can be found in Zuhl Library - Reference. Call number: RA440.5 .M634 2004
Encyclopedia of Public Health
Contains 900 articles written by public health experts and covers all aspects of public health from infectious diseases to the causes of injury or chronic diseases. An excellent starting point.
Guide to Community Preventive Services
“Evidence-based recommendations for programs and policies to promote population health.”
Health Affairs
Health Affairs is peer-reviewed journal focusing on health policy in domestic and international spheres. Full text of article only available to subscribers.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
This six volume set can be found at Zuhl Library - Reference -Call Number: RA423 .I68 2008.
Introduction to Program Evaluation for Public Health Programs
This self-study guide is a manual for planning and implementing public health programs and to evaluate their activities.
Making Health Communication Programs Work
“This book describes a practical approach for planning and implementing health communication efforts; it offers guidelines, not hard and fast rules.”
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
The MMWR publishes weekly news, surveillance summaries, and recommendations.
The National Academies Press (NAP)
Publishes the reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Many of the books are freely available in PDF format and can be downloaded in their entirety or by chapter.
Unnatural Causes (DVD)
Unnatural Causes is a four hour documentary examining the root causes of the socio-economic and racial health disparities.
Who Will Keep the Public Healthy?: Educating Public Health Professionals for the 21st Century
Gebbie, K., Rosenstock, L. & Hernandez, L.M. (Eds.) (2003)

Catalog Call Nos.

Most Nursing and Health Science books are located in Branson, on the 3rd and 4th floors. Call number location chart here.

Q Science (Branson, third floor)

QD - Chemistry

QH - General Biology

QM - Human Anatomy

QP - Physiology

QR - Microbiology & Virology

R Medicine (Branson, fourth floor)

RA - Public Health

RA 410 - Health Care System

RA 418 - Health Attitudes and Behavior

RA 427.9 - Health Promotion

RA 564.85 - Women's Health

RC - Practice of Medicine

RC 440 - Psychiatric Nursing

RC 674 - Cardiovascular Nursing

RC 954 - Geriatric Nursing

RJ - Pediatrics

RJ 245 - Pediatric Nursing

RM - Nutrition & Pharmacology

RS - Alternative Medicine

RT - Nursing