Selected electronic reference resources
Scientists, Mathematicians, and Inventors by 
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by 
Encyclopedia of Chemistry Research by 
Encyclopedia of Electrochemistry Research by A select list of print reference resources
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry by
This 3-Volume Supplementary Set for the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry contains articles which published online in Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry (EAC) from 2008 - 2010. It covers subjects which have achieved particular prominence and distinction since the print publication of EAC in 2000. The 3 Volume Set includes advances in applications and theory ranging from mass spectrometry, atomic, infrared, Raman and X-ray spectroscopy, to nuclear magnetic resonance and imaging, nuclear methods, electrochemistry, and hyphenated techniques. Provides essential information required to analyze elements and compounds as well as structures in a wide variety of matrices for a range of applications, interpret the results and also gain a thorough knowledge of the theory and instrumentation utilized. Visit the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry online to view the latest articles available within the most comprehensive one-stop reference for analytical chemistry. Coverage of key advances within this 3-Volume set includes: Proteomics and genomics Coverage of quantitative proteomics, electrochemical detection, dynamic light scattering, amyloids and protein aggregation measurements to low-cost, high-throughput gene sequencing Imaging technologies Coverage of major new medical and biological techniques including: ultrashort laser pulse medical imaging, quantitative imaging of membrane mechanics with molecular resolution, 3D neutron imaging, scanning near-field ultrasound holography, atomic force microscopy in nanocell biology, biomolecular interactions using nanopore force spectroscopy, scanning electrochemical microscopy and quadrupolar nuclei in biological systems Nanotechnology Expanded coverage of nanotechnology including scanning probe microscopy for imaging nanoparticles and nanocrystals, nanomaterials for electroanalysis, as well as scanning electrochemical microscopy, and scanning near-field ultrasound holography Other major advances There is also comprehensive coverage of advances in environmental monitoring, drinking water analysis, forensic science, electronic absorption and luminescence spectroscopy, infrared spectroscopy, atomic spectroscopy, nuclear magnetic resonance and electrochemistry; as well as specific coverage in pharmaceuticals and drugs, clinical chemistry, X-ray spectrometry, chemometrics, polymers and liquid chromatography Written at a level appropriate to allow a chemist (organic, polymer, inorganic, biochemist, molecular biologist), physicist or engineer to discover methodology for the analysis of most molecular and biological structures and materials. Find out more about EAC Online here: http://tiny.cc/eaconline
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science by
As with the first edition of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Science, Second Edition is designed to provide a detailed and comprehensive publication covering all facets of the science and practice of analysis. The new work has been extensively revised in terms of the titles and content of the first edition, and includes comprehensive coverage of techniques used for the determination of specific elements, compounds and groups of compounds, in physical or biological matrices. It addresses applications of chemical analysis in all areas, ranging from such topics as medicine to environmental science, and geology to food science. Important characterisation techniques, such as microscopy and surface analysis are also included. The complete work consists of around 610 articles, each consisting of about 4000 words, figures and summary tables. These articles are combined to form larger entries providing comprehensive coverage of important topics and assisting the reader in locating material of interest. The entries are arranged in an A to Z format providing a final publication of about two and a half million words in ten volumes. The articles are structured to allow easy access to information on specific analytes, instrumental techniques and sample matrices. There is extensive cross-referencing throughout the Encyclopedia and a detailed index. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.
Encyclopedia of Chromatography by
Thoroughly revised and expanded, the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Chromatography is an authoritative source of information for researchers in chemistry, biology, physics, engineering, and materials science. This quick reference and guide to specific chromatographic techniques and theory provides a basic introduction to the science and technology of the method, offering key references dealing with the methodology for analysis of specific chemicals and applications in industry. With a focus on emerging technologies and uses, the text contains tables and figures that cogently illustrate and clarify technical points in the articles. The Third Edition provides a valuable, reader-friendly reference for all those who employ chromatographic methods for analysis of complex mixtures of substances, as well as practitioners across the entire spectrum of science. What's New in the Third Edition: Bioanalysis: Silica- and Polymer-Based Monolithic Columns Bioluminescence: Detection in TLC Chemical Warfare Agent Degradation Products: HPLC/MS Analysis Chemical Warfare Agents: TLC Analysis Cyclodextrins in GC Cyclodextrins in HPLC Detection in Ion Chromatography Drug Development: LC/MS Flash Chromatography Food Analysis: Ion Chromatography Inorganic and Organic Cations: Ion Chromatographic Determination Inverse GC Multidimensional Separations Spiral Column Assembly for HSCCC Thin Layer Radiochromatography Topological Indices: TLC UV-Visible Detection Including Multiple Wavelengths ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry by
The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry provides authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the whole topic of spectroscopy, from theory to applications. Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. A list of further reading at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes. Articles are arranged alphabetically, each having been named to facilitate logical access by the reader. Each article is flagged as to which area of spectroscopy it covers ("Mass Spectroscopy," "Magnetic Resonance," etc.) and whether it covers theory, methods and instrumentation, or applications. Users can refer to an alphabetical article listing, or to a listing arranged according to subject area to locate articles. Further reading lists at the end of each article allow easy access to the primary literature. Extensive cross-referencing, a complete subject index, numerous figures, and color plates are included in each volume. Initial access to the online version offering extensive hypertext linking and advanced search tools is available to buyers of the print edition. Ongoing access is maintained for a minimum annual fee.
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need aknowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry indiverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics ofchemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel celltechnology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecularchemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, andproteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includesover 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.