A select list of books in chemistry:
Chemistry Education in the ICT Age by
th th The 20 International Conference on Chemical Education (20 ICCE), which had rd th "Chemistry in the ICT Age" as the theme, was held from 3 to 8 August 2008 at Le Méridien Hotel, Pointe aux Piments, in Mauritius. With more than 200 participants from 40 countries, the conference featured 140 oral and 50 poster presentations. th Participants of the 20 ICCE were invited to submit full papers and the latter were subjected to peer review. The selected accepted papers are collected in this book of proceedings. This book of proceedings encloses 39 presentations covering topics ranging from fundamental to applied chemistry, such as Arts and Chemistry Education, Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Chemical Education for Development, Chemistry at Secondary Level, Chemistry at Tertiary Level, Chemistry Teacher Education, Chemistry and Society, Chemistry Olympiad, Context Oriented Chemistry, ICT and Chemistry Education, Green Chemistry, Micro Scale Chemistry, Modern Technologies in Chemistry Education, Network for Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Education, Public Understanding of Chemistry, Research in Chemistry Education and Science Education at Elementary Level. We would like to thank those who submitted the full papers and the reviewers for their timely help in assessing the papers for publication. th We would also like to pay a special tribute to all the sponsors of the 20 ICCE and, in particular, the Tertiary Education Commission (http://tec.intnet.mu/) and the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (http://www.opcw.org/) for kindly agreeing to fund the publication of these proceedings.
Chemistry in the Garden by
The aim of this book is to describe some aspects of the chemistry and chemical ecology which are found in the garden. In the garden there are numerous interactions between plants, the soil and with other organisms in which chemistry plays a central mediating role. The discussion concerns several of the chemically and ecologically interesting compounds that are produced by common ornamental garden plants and vegetables and by the predators that attack them. Many chemists are amateur gardeners and this book is directed at them as well as those with a general interest in the scientific processes involved in the garden.
Chemistry of the Natural Atmosphere by
Knowledge of the chemical behaviour of trace compounds in the atmosphere has grown steadily, and sometimes even spectacularly, in recent decades. These developments have led to the emergence of atmospheric chemistry as a new branch of science. This book covers all aspects of atmospheric chemistry and geochemistry, physics and biology to provide a unified account.
Metallothioneins and Related Chelators by
This title is not available to purchase from Royal Society of Chemistry. Please visit www.bioinorganic-chemistry.org/mils for title information. These sulfur-rich chelators, being important in metal ion homeostasis, find increasing attention. MILS-5, written by 30 internationally recognized experts, focuses on this hot topic. The reader is supported by about 20 tables, more than 80 illustrations and nearly 2000 references. This book is an essential resource for scientists working in a wide range of disciplines from environmental toxicology and inorganic biochemistry all the way through to physiology and medicine.
NMR Spectroscopy Explained by
NMR Spectroscopy Explained : Simplified Theory, Applications and Examples for Organic Chemistry and Structural Biology provides a fresh, practical guide to NMR for both students and practitioners, in a clearly written and non-mathematical format. It gives the reader an intermediate level theoretical basis for understanding laboratory applications, developing concepts gradually within the context of examples and useful experiments. Introduces students to modern NMR as applied to analysis of organic compounds. Presents material in a clear, conversational style that is appealing to students. Contains comprehensive coverage of how NMR experiments actually work. Combines basic ideas with practical implementation of the spectrometer. Provides an intermediate level theoretical basis for understanding laboratory experiments. Develops concepts gradually within the context of examples and useful experiments. Introduces the product operator formalism after introducing the simpler (but limited) vector model.
Radioionidation Reactions for Pharmaceuticals by
This compendium describes the major production routes of the six most relevant iodine radio isotopes and the various methods of labeling molecules of biological, diagnostic or pharmaceutical interest with them. The chapters describe the basic reaction mechanisms, and the influence of iodine introduction on physical/chemical and pharmacological properties. They include examples of important reaction pathways for the preparation of radio-iodine compounds.
The Chemistry of Heterocycles by
The second edition of this "classic" among textbooks on heterocycle chemistry. Here, Theophil Eicher and Siegfried Hauptmann, both renowned authors of many successful such works, present all the important aspects of this fascinating field in a clear manner. - completely revised - enlarged - numerous Q&As help readers to deepen their knowledge - covers the very latest topics, such as metal-catalyzed coupling reactions - systematic substance nomenclature - comprehensive overview of all the important substance classes. A must-have for advanced students of organic chemistry as well as for chemists looking for a quick overview of the field.
Chemistry: The Impure Science by
What do you associate with chemistry? Explosions, innovative materials, plastics, pollution? The public's confused and contradictory conception of chemistry as basic science, industrial producer and polluter contributes to what we present in this book as chemistry's image as an impure science. Historically, chemistry has always been viewed as impure both in terms of its academic status and its role in transforming modern society. While exploring the history of this science we argue for a characteristic philosophical approach that distinguishes chemistry from physics. This reflection leads us to a philosophical stance that we characterise as operational realism. In this new expanded edition we delve deeper into the questions of properties and potentials that are so important for this philosophy that is based on the manipulation of matter rather than the construction of theories.
Physics and Chemistry Basis of Biotechnology by
At the end of the 20th century, a tremendous progress was made in biotechnology in its widest sense. This progress was largely possible as a result of joint efforts of top academic researchers in both pure fundamental sciences and applied research. The surplus value of such interdisciplinary approaches was clearly highlighted during the 9th European Congress on Biotechnology that was held in Brussels, Belgium (11-15 July, 1999). The present volume in the 'Focus on Biotechnology' series, entiteld 'Physics and Chemistry Basis for Biotechnology' contains selected presentations from this meeting, A collection of experts has made serious efforts to present some of the latest developments in various scientific fields and to unveil prospective evolutions on the threshold of the new millenium. In all contributions the emphasis is on emerging new areas of research in which physicochemical principles form the foundation. In reading the different chapters, it appears that more than ever significant advances in biotechnology very often depend on breakthroughs in the biotechnology itself (e.g.
Computational Approaches to Biochemical Reactivity by
A quantitative description of the action of enzymes and other biological systems is both a challenge and a fundamental requirement for further progress in our und- standing of biochemical processes. This can help in practical design of new drugs and in the development of artificial enzymes as well as in fundamental understanding of the factors that control the activity of biological systems. Structural and biochemical st- ies have yielded major insights about the action of biological molecules and the mechanism of enzymatic reactions. However it is not entirely clear how to use this - portant information in a consistent and quantitative analysis of the factors that are - sponsible for rate acceleration in enzyme active sites. The problem is associated with the fact that reaction rates are determined by energetics (i. e. activation energies) and the available experimental methods by themselves cannot provide a correlation - tween structure and energy. Even mutations of specific active site residues, which are extremely useful, cannot tell us about the totality of the interaction between the active site and the substrate. In fact, short of inventing experiments that allow one to measure the forces in enzyme active sites it is hard to see how can one use a direct experimental approach to unambiguously correlate the structure and function of enzymes. In fact, in view of the complexity of biological systems it seems that only computers can handle the task of providing a quantitative structure-function correlation.
Protein Structure, Stability, and Folding by
In Protein Structure, Stability, and Folding, Kenneth P. Murphy and a panel of internationally recognized investigators describe some of the newest experimental and theoretical methods for investigating these critical events and processes. Among the techniques discussed are the many methods for calculating many of protein stability and dynamics from knowledge of the structure, and for performing molecular dynamics simulations of protein unfolding. New experimental approaches presented include the use of co-solvents, novel applications of hydrogen exchange techniques, temperature-jump methods for looking at folding events, and new strategies for mutagenesis experiments. Unique in its powerful combination of theory and practice, Protein Structure, Stability, and Folding offers protein and biophysical chemists the means to gain a more comprehensive understanding of some of this complex area by detailing many of the major techniques in use today.
Biological Thermodynamics by
This inter-disciplinary guide to the thermodynamics of living organisms has been thoroughly revised and updated to provide a uniquely integrated overview of the subject. Retaining its highly readable style, it will serve as an introduction to the study of energy transformation in the life sciences and particularly as an accessible means for biology, biochemistry and bioengineering undergraduate students to acquaint themselves with the physical dimension of their subject. The emphasis throughout the text is on understanding basic concepts and developing problem-solving skills. The mathematical difficulty increases gradually by chapter, but no calculus is required. Topics covered include energy and its transformation, the First Law of Thermodynamics, Gibbs free energy, statistical thermodynamics, binding equilibria and reaction kinetics. Each chapter comprises numerous illustrative examples taken from different areas of biochemistry, as well as a broad range of exercises and references for further study.
Chemistry of the Climate System by
Climate change is a major challenge facing the modern world. The chemistry of air and it's influence on the climate system forms the main focus of this monograph. The book presents a problem-based approach to presenting global atmospheric processes, evaluating the effects of changing air composition as well as possibilities for interference within these processes and indicates ways for solving the problem of climate change through chemistry. The new edition includes innovations and latest research results.
Computational Chemistry by
The development of new drugs always was time consuming and costly. With the development in experimental methods, it was possible to scan small-compound libraries in order to find potentially suitable molecules. Protein kinases are a class of enzymes involved in the great majority of cellular processes. This book begins with a discussion on the protein kinase targeting drug discovery and design. It continues with topics on computational chemistry investigation of UV filters; using the network simulation method to study ionic transport processes in electrochemical cells; molecular simulation of electron beam nanofabrication; interpreting of chiral ordering of hybrid system of several AZO dyes; a general procedure for a priori calculation of thermochemical properties of organic molecules and free radicals; strategies for design of new organic molecular rectifiers; and DFT studies.