The global environmental information exchange network; operates through a system of government-designated national focal points. INFOTERRA focal points provide a wide range of environmental information products and services including environmental bibliographies; directories of sources of information; query-response services; environmental awareness leaflets; and access to Internet services.
An international organization created by Canada, Mexico and the United States under the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC). CEC was established to address regional environmental concerns, help prevent potential trade and environmental conflicts, and to promote the effective enforcement of environmental law.
CEC Publications and Information Resources, http://www.cec.org/pubs_info_resources/index.cfm?varlan=english
Established in 1889, the IBWC has responsibility for applying the boundary and water treaties between the United States and Mexico and settling differences that may arise out of these treaties. The IBWC is an international body composed of the United States Section and the Mexican Section, each headed by an Engineer-Commissioner appointed by his/her respective president. See the Environmental Compliance Section, www.ibwc.state.gov/html/environment.html for access to many full-text reports.
NTIS products are the results of government-funded research and can be ordered online via this clearinghouse. More than 600,000 reports and other information products are available through the online database.
Use the library search link, http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.asp?loc=3-0-0 to search the entire database.
A separate Environmental Collection contains more than 80,000 information products produced since 1990 from research funded by EPA, NASA, Department of Energy, and D
Legal arm of SEMARNAT. Responsible for enforcing Mexico’s environmental laws. The Centro de Documentacion, http://www.profepa.gob.mx/seccion.asp?sec_id=20&com_id=0 provides access to legal documents and other official publications.
Collaborative of 10 U.S. and Mexican universities promoting applied environmental research in the border region. Website provides access to ongoing research in the border region; texts of proposals and research reports; news; fulltext monographs. See especially sections on Research and Publications.
Excellent source for information on ecotourism in Mexico, Latin America and the world. Contains a wealth of original reports from travelers, journalists and other researchers and a section on Latin American media. Project of journalist and author, Ron Mader, http://www.planeta.com/ecotravel/ron.html
Headquartered in Tijuana with branches in Juárez and other border cities. Disseminates research on many border issues, including the environment. Major publication, Frontera Norte http://www.colef.mx/fronteranorte and other research reports available via the website.
Network of research centers with branches in Chiapas, Quintana Roo and other southern states. Website provides fulltext publication, Revista ECOFRONTERAS, http://www.ecosur.mx/Difusi%F3n/ecofronteras/ecofrontera.html
and other research reports and monographs. Other databases provided through the research library, SIBE http://sibe.ecosur.mx/
Clearinghouse for environmental information on the web. Organized thematically and primarily U.S. focused, but includes many documents, organizational links from other world areas, including the U.S.-Mexico border.
Nonprofit organization working to use international law and institutions to protect the environment, promote human health, and ensure a just and sustainable society. Services include legal counsel, policy research, analysis, advocacy, education, training, and capacity building. Provides access to hundreds of documents and research reports. Use the search form to find papers on Mexico and many other topics, http://www.ciel.org/searchform.html
Scientific Electronic Library Online. Open access digital collection of fulltext articles from science and social science journals from Latin America and Spain. SciELO is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet.
Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal provides full text access to nearly 200 journals in social sciences and humanities published in many Latin American countries, Spain and Portugal. Includes Frontera Norte, Migraciones Internacionales, El Trimestre Económico, and 8 titles in environmental studies.
A project of the University of Michigan Digital Library, OAIster provides a searchable database of nearly 6 million articles, documents, graphics and other digital objects available free on the internet from more than 500 institutions and organizations. OAIster encompasses as broad a collection of resources as possible in many formats and with no subject parameters. It is freely accessible to the entire Internet community. Use the search feature to locate information on environment and border to
HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free, full-text, peer-reviewed content, with 876 journals and 974,974 free, full-text articles online. Not all content is free, but provides information on obtaining all materials. A search on mexico border environment (all words) yielded more than 2000 articles.