The Center for Comparative Immigration Studies at the University of California-San Diego is an interdisciplinary, multinational research and training program devoted to comparative (especially cross-national) work on international migration and refugee movements. Its main intellectual agenda is to systematically compare the U.S. immigration experience - historical and contemporary -- with that of other labor-importing countries in other regions (especially the Asia-Pacific, Latin America, and We
The Center for Immigration Research seeks to study the consequences of current immigration trends in order to inform decision making concerning international and national immigration policies, as well as to disseminate information to local institutions, organizations and policy-makers involved with the settlement and incorporation of America's "new immigrants" into their communities.
The Center for Migration Studies of New York (CMS), founded in New York in 1964, is one of the premier institutes for migration studies in the United States. It is committed to facilitating the study of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative and pastoral aspects of human migration and refugee movements. CMS brings an independent perspective to the interdisciplinary study of international migration and refugees without institutional constraints of government analysts and
A bi-national project of the Office of Population Research at Princeton University and the Universidad de Guadalajara to study and document the process of Mexican migration to the United States. The MMP gathers and maintains high quality social and demographic data on the lives and characteristics of documented and undocumented Mexican migrants to the United States and makes the collected data available to the public for research and educational purposes
Migration Dialogue promotes an informed discussion of the issues associated with international migration by providing unbiased and timely information on immigration and integration issues. Migration Dialogue supports five major activities: Migration News, Rural Migration News, Opinion Leader Seminars, Comparative Migration Policy Research, and California Rural Welfare Database. Migration News provides a monthly summary of recent immigration developments that can be read in 60 minutes or less. Ma
The Migration Policy Institute (MPI) is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit think-tank in Washington, D.C. dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the rising demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and
This site offers "fresh thought, authoritative data, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends" and chronicles global migration movements. Global Data contains charts and tables for several countries dating back to 1990 and Country Profiles contains articles on various countries' immigration and emigration policies, experience, patterns, and forecasts. There are also U.S. Historical Trends, related links, and a glossary.
Content-rich site with focus on migration worldwide, but emphasis on the United States and Mexico from a variety of perspectives including documented and undocumented migration, refugees, etc. Includes official US and Mexican documents, scholarly analysis, and many original articles on the topic. Links to political and scholarly interest groups on all sides of the issue.
A nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation. The Center does not advocate for or take positions on policy issues. It is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Regularly publishes research reports on
Based at Syracuse University, TRAC gathers and analyzes U.S. government data on border, immigration and customs enforcement, drug, alcohol, tobacco and firearms enforcement, etc. TRAC-DHS, http://trac.syr.edu/tracdhs/index.html monitors the Department of Homeland Security and publishes regular reports on immigration, and other border enforcement issues.
Advocacy Organizations and Resources
cases, descriptions are taken directly from organizations’ pages. These lists
are not comprehensive, or “fair and balanced.” Each site will link to other
organizations with similar agendas.
The Immigrants' Rights Project (IRP) of the American Civil Liberties Union works to defend the civil and constitutional rights of immigrants through a comprehensive program of impact litigation and public education. The IRP files constitutional and class action lawsuits protecting the historic guarantee to judicial review, enforcing fair employment practices, and maintaining constitutional safeguards against detention practices and biased asylum adjudication.
AILA is a national bar association of over 6,700 attorneys who practice and teach immigration law. Working closely with leading immigration experts throughout the country, the American Immigration Law Foundation has established three core program areas: the Legal Action Center, the Public Education Program, and an Exchange Visitor Program. Through these programs, the Foundation sponsors numerous awards programs, publishes policy reports, engages in impact litigation, and provides policymakers a
To enhance and expand delivery of legal services to indigent and low-income immigrants principally through diocesan immigration programs and to meet the immigration needs identified by the Catholic Church in the United States; provides current awareness service via web and email.
The purpose of the National Immigration Forum is to embrace and uphold America's tradition as a nation of immigrants. The Forum advocates and builds public support for policies that welcome immigrants and refugees and that are fair and supportive to newcomers in our country.
The National Immigration Law Center (NILC) is a national support center whose mission is to protect and promote the rights and opportunities of low income immigrants and their family members. NILC staff specialize in immigration law, and the employment and public benefits rights of immigrants. The Center conducts policy analysis and impact litigation and provides publications, technical advice, and trainings to a broad constituency of legal aid agencies, community groups, and pro bono attorne
The National Immigration Project is a network of immigration lawyers, law students, jailhouse lawyers, and legal workers who work to end unlawful immigration practices, to recognize the contributions of immigrants in this country, to promote fair immigration practices, and to expand the civil and human rights of all immigrants, regardless of their status in the United States.
The National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights (NNIRR) is a national organization composed of local coalitions and immigrant, refugee, community, religious, civil rights and labor organizations and activists. It serves as a forum to share information and analysis, to educate communities and the general public, and to develop and coordinate plans of action on important immigrant and refugee issues. NNIRR works promote a just immigration and refugee policy in the United States and to defend
Americans for Better Immigration (ABI) is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that lobbies Congress for reductions in immigration numbers. ABI believes the problem with immigration today is not the individual immigrant but the numbers. "Better" immigration is lower immigration.
The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit research organization founded in 1985. It is the nation's only think tank devoted exclusively to research and policy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the United States. It is the Center's mission to expand the base of public knowledge and understanding of the need for an immigration policy that gives first concern to the broad national interest. The Center is
Our fragile National Monuments, National Wildlife Refuges, National Parks, and National Forests along the U.S. southern border are being annihilated - not by natural forces or by unwitting tourists, but instead by an overwhelming number of illegal aliens (up to 300,000 in Organ Pipe National Monument alone in recent years) who rampage through and destroy these supposedly protected areas. Our beautiful and pristine areas, set aside by Congress to preserve for future generations, are quickly being
The Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR) is a national, non-profit, public- interest, membership organization of concerned citizens who share a common belief that the unforeseen mass immigration that has occurred over the last 30 years should be curtailed. The FAIR website maintains a database of immigration news from many sources.
A grassroots effort to bring Americans to the defense of their homeland… This call for volunteers is not a call to arms, but a call to voices seeking a peaceful and respectable resolve to the chaotic neglect by members of our local, state and federal governments charged with applying U.S. immigration law. It is a call to peacefully assemble at the Arizona-Mexico border to bring national awareness to the decades-long careless disregard of effective U.S. immigration law enforcement.
NumbersUSA examines numerical levels of annual legal and illegal immigration and provides information to educate the public about the immigration-reduction recommendations from recent national commissions. As a resource for voters, NumbersUSA exhaustively details the positions on immigration taken by each member of Congress.
On March 1, 2003 the responsibility for providing immigration-related services and benefits such as naturalization and work authorization were transferred from the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) to the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), a bureau of the Department of Homeland Security.
Investigative and enforcement responsibilities for enforcement of federal immigration laws, customs laws, and air security laws was transferred to the Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE).
Since the passage of the Homeland Security Act of 2002, the Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility to carry out two statutory requirements: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) contains documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The documents come from many government and non-governmental sources including federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks,