Casa Amiga provides counseling, legal and medical services as needed to the victims of domestic abuse, sexual abuse and rape. Director Esther Chavez Cano has been recognized around the world numerous times for her work on Cd. Juárez women's issues.
A non- governmental organization that, through the defense and promotion of human rights, works towards attaining the structural conditions in society such that the people of Mexico can enjoy and exercise without discrimination their fundamental human rights.
Justice in Mexico works to improve citizen security, strengthen the rule of law, and protect human rights in Mexico. We generate cutting edge research, promote informed dialogue, and work to find solutions to address these enormously complex issues. As a U.S.-based initiative, our program partners with key stakeholders, experts, and decision makers, lending international support to help analyze the challenges at hand, build consensus about how to resolve them, and foster policies and programs that can bring about change.
The LAWG works to encourage U.S. policies towards Latin America that promote human rights, justice, peace and sustainable development. LAWG promotes the interests of over 60 major religious, humanitarian, grassroots and policy organizations to decision makers in Washington.
WOLA monitors the impact of U.S. foreign policy on human rights, democracy and equitable development in Latin America. WOLA informs and educates policy-makers, religious and non-governmental organizations, and the general public about that impact. In addition, WOLA’s work on Mexico has focused on drug policy and violence. See for example: http://www.wola.org/publications/publications.htm#DrugPolicy and http://www.wola.org/Mexico/mexico.htm
DOJ is the main executive department for law enforcement in the United States. Mission statement of the Department of Justice: To enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide Federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; to administer and enforce the Nation's immigration laws fairly and effectively; and to ensure
Part of the Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, the “outreach” agency of the DOJ. NCJRS provides many online documents and databases of criminal justice information. From the website: “NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.”
The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. A primary source for crime statistics compiled by various government agencies.
The mission of the DEA is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the ava
The FBI is a major source for statistics on crime and justice in the US. See http://www.fbi.gov/publications.htm for a listing and links to FBI publications, including the major source for US crime statistics, the Uniform Crime Reports, Crime in the United States, http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm#cius
Investigative and enforcement responsibilities for enforcement of federal immigration laws, customs laws, and air security laws was transferred to the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). For more information on what ICE is doing, please check the ICE Web site. U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) assumed responsibilities for protecting our borders within the Department of Homeland Security. For more information about CBP and its activities, please check the CBP Web site.
Investigative and enforcement responsibilities for enforcement of federal immigration laws, customs laws, and air security laws was transferred to the Bureau of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE). One public information source from ICE is the newsletter: Inside Ice, http://www.ice.gov/pi/news/insideice/index.htm
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) contains documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The documents come from many government and non-governmental sources including federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
FirstGov.gov, the official U.S. gateway to all government information, is the catalyst for a growing electronic government. On FirstGov.gov, you can search millions of web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. Most of these pages are not available on commercial websites. FirstGov has the most comprehensive search of government anywhere on the Internet.
Garantizar el cumplimiento de la Ley Federal de Transparencia y Acceso a la Información Pública Gubernamental y promover el derecho de acceso a la información pública y la protección de los datos personales. IFAI processes requests for public information from Mexican government agencies.
The INM is the official Mexican government department for migration issues. It is a department within the Secretaría de Gobernación (http://www.segob.gob.mx/). There are three special programs of the INM providing services to migrants
The PGR is analogous to the US Department of Justice. The Procurador is parallel to the US Attorney General; current office holder is Rafael Macedo de la Concha. Each State government also has a Procuraduria General de Justicia del Estado, for example, current Chihuahua Attorney General, Patricia Gonzalez. Links on the Government of Chihuahua website: http://www.chihuahua.gob.mx/, http://www.chihuahua.gob.mx/pgje/
SEGOB carries our many government administration and law enforcement functions, including migration, many police agencies (Protección Civil), political development, media relations, church-state relations, human rights, etc.
The National Security Archive is a research institute on international affairs, a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, a public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information through the FOIA, and an indexer and publisher of the documents in books, microfiche, and electronic formats. The Electronic Briefing Books, http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/index.html provide full text of many of the NSA’
Founded in 1945 by Manhattan Project scientists, FAS disseminates information from a variety of sources relating to military, security, energy industries and more. FAS is a repository for Congressional Research Service reports and other non-classified, but difficult to find government information. See also the FAS Project on Government Secrecy, http://www.fas.org/main/content.jsp?formAction=325&projectId=5, works to challenge unwarranted secrecy and to promote reform of national security informa
GlobalSecurity.org is the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security. Launched in 2000, GlobalSecurity.org is the most comprehensive and authoritative online destination for those in need of both reliable background information and breaking news. GlobalSecurity.org, is well-respected, trusted and often-referenced in the media, both domestically and internationally.
Based at Syracuse University, TRAC gathers and analyzes U.S. government data on border, immigration and customs enforcement, drug, alcohol, tobacco and firearms enforcement, etc. TRAC-DHS, http://trac.syr.edu/tracdhs/index.html monitors the Department of Homeland Security and publishes regular reports on immigration, and other border enforcement issues.
A global organization to monitor and fight corruption. Local chapters bring together players from government, civil society, business and the media to promote transparency in elections, in public administration, in procurement and in business. The website provides access to news stories, research publications such as the Global Corruption Reports series: http://www.transparency.org/publications/publications/gcr_2007
See the Americas pages: http://www.transparency.org/regional_pages/amer