Skip to main content

Border & Latin American Information

Information sources for research on Latin America and the U.S.-Mexico border region

Reference Books


Reference Books - Located at Zuhl Library, 1st floor 

This is a very selective list of reference books that will provide a variety of general information on border and Latin American issues. Browse in these call number areas for related materials.


The borderlands: an encyclopedia of culture and politics on the U.S.-Mexico divide  F786 .B74 2008


BorderLine: a bibliography of the United States-Mexico borderlands  F786 .V35 1988


Encyclopedia of Mexico : history, society & culture    F1204 .E539 1997


La clase política mexicana: diccionario  F1235.5.A2 L66 2006


Handbook of Latin American studies   F1401 .H23


South American Handbook  F1401 So87 2007


Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures   F1406 E515 2000


Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture    F1406 .E53 2008 Copy 1


Latin America on File  G1540 T6 1995


United States-Mexico border statistics since 1900   HA218 .U56 1990

United States-Mexico border statistics since 1900: 1990 update  HA218 .U56 1990 Suppl.

Borderplex long-term economic trends to 2027  HC108.E4 F8454 2008

Borderplex economic outlook : 2007-2009  HC108.E4 F845 2007 Copy 1

The Americas review / World of Information  HC121 .L356

The Complete twin plant guide  HD9734.M42 C66

The complete guide to doing business in Mexico  HF3066 .W74 1994


Cracking Latin America : a country-by-country guide to doing business in the world’s newest emerging markets  HF3230.5.A48 E53 1994

Latin American marketing data and statistics   HF5415.12.L3 L377


Political Risk Yearbook North and Central America   JL1416 P65 2006

Political Risk Yearbook South America    JL1866 P65 2006

Europa World Yearbook [Zuhl Ref DESK]  JN1 Eu74y Copy 1


Encyclopedia of American immigration   JV6465 .E53 2001

Illegal immigrants in U.S./Mexico border counties : the costs of law enforcement, criminal justice and emergency medical services / United States/Mexico Border Counties Coalition  JV6565 .I45 2001

Diccionario jurídico : el ABC del derecho : términos jurídicos y administrativos  K50 .O75 2007

United States-Mexico border environmental directory = Directorio ambiental fronterizo México-Estados Unidos  TD171.5.M58 U55 1997

Library Databases for Articles

Use these databases to find journal articles and news articles for the study of Mexico and Latin American politics and government.

Request It! (Interlibrary Loan)

Request it

To obtain materials (books, articles, etc.) that are not available at the NMSU Library, use the Request It service.

Use the service if

  • You need a book or article that is not available at NMSU.


  • You need a book or article that is available at another NMSU campus.


  • You are faculty or a Ph.D. candidate and would like to have a book or article delivered to or picked up from your office.

To access Request It directly from a database, look for the Request It button or a link to Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Otherwise, go directly to the Request It form:

Subject Guide

Molly Molloy's picture
Molly Molloy
Reference & Research Services

MSC 3475

New Mexico State University

Las Cruces, NM 88003-8006

(575) 646-6931

Frontera List

Office hours: Thurs 10-12 am