Skip to main content

Genealogy Research Guide

This guide will help researchers find helpful information at the NMSU Library.

Helpful Gov Docs

Many pre-1976 Government Documents are currently being cataloged, but in the meantime the following helpful sources include their SuDoc number, which will tell you where they are on the shelf.  There are always helpful staff members who can help you find this item you are looking for.

 

McMullin, Philip W.  GRASSROOTS OF AMERICA.  Salt Lake City: Gendex, 1972.

SuDoc: (Doc Ref) J33 M3 

Index of names appearing in the Serial Set volumes 28-36, which deal with land grants and claims 1789-1837.

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  INVENTORY.  Washington: GPO, 1970 - .

SuDoc: GS4.10/2:no. 

Guide and description of an individual National Archives record group.

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  PRELIMINARY INVENTORIES.  Washington: GPO, 1941 - .

SuDoc: GS4.10:no.  

Guide and description of an individual National Archives record group.

 

 

Lawson, Sandra M.  GENERATIONS PAST: A SELECTED LIST OF SOURCES FOR  AFRO-AMERICAN GENEALOGICAL RESEARCH.  Washington: GPO, 1988.

SuDoc: LC1.12/2:Af8/4   

 

 

Library of Congress.  AMERICAN AND ENGLISH GENEALOGIES IN THE LIBRARY  OF CONGRESS.  2nd ed.  Washington: GPO, 1919.

SuDoc: LC9.2:G28/919

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  GENEALOGICAL RECORDS IN THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES.  Washington: National Archives, 1983.

SuDoc: GS4.22:5/5      

Describes federal records in the National Archives useful for genealogical research.

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  GENEALOGICAL SOURCES OUTSIDE THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES.  Washington: National Archives, 1977.

SuDoc: GS4.2:G28/2/1977

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  GUIDE TO GENEALOGICAL RECORDS IN THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES.  Washington: National Archives, 1964.

SuDoc: GS4.6/2:G28     

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  GUIDE TO THE ARCHIVES OF THE GOVERNMENT OF THE CONFEDERATE STATES OF AMERICA.  Washington: National Archives, 1968.

SuDoc: GS4.6/2:C76     

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  GUIDE TO THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES OF THE UNITED STATES.  Washington: National Archives, 1974.

SuDoc: GS4.6/2:N21       

 

Lists all official U.S. government records in the National Archives as of June 30, 1970, with the exception of presidential papers.

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  LIST OF RECORD GROUPS OF THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS SERVICE.  Washington: National Archives, 1984. 

SuDoc: GS4.19:984      

Record groups are arranged by keyword, operating unit, and record group number.

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  PRE-FEDERAL MAPS IN THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES: AN ANNOTATED LIST.  Washington: National Archives, 1975.

SuDoc: GS4.7:26 

United States.  Bureau of the Census.  Washington: National Archives.

SuDoc: HA201 1790 N3        

 

  T498    HEADS OF FAMILIES AT THE FIRST CENSUS OF THE STATES TAKEN  IN THE YEAR 1790.  Reels 1-3.              

United States.  Bureau of the Census.  Washington: National Archives.

SuDoc: HA201 U32       

  

T1210   DESCRIPTION OF CENSUS ENUMERATION DISTRICTS, 1900. 

                Reel 6.

T1224   DESCRIPTION OF CENSUS ENUMERATION DISTRICTS, 1830-1890 AND 1910-      1950. 

                Reel 34.

 

 

National Archives and Records Administration.  FAST FACTS ABOUT THE 1920 CENSUS.  Washington: National Archives, 1992.

SuDoc: AE1.113:43

 

 

National Archives and Records Administration.  THE FEDERAL POPULATION AND MORTALITY SCHEDULES, 1790-1890, IN THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND THE

  STATES.  Washington: National Archives, 1986.

SuDoc: AE1.115:24         

 

 

National Archives Trust Fund Board.  FEDERAL POPULATION CENSUSES, 1790-1890.  Washington: National Archives, 1979.

SuDoc: (Doc Ref) GS4.2:P81/2/1790-1890. 

 

Catalog of National Archives microfilm reels containing the 1790-1890 census schedules.  Also copy in Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

1900 FEDERAL POPULATION CENSUS.  Washington: National Archives, 1985.

SuDoc: (Doc Ref) GS4.2:P81/2/1900.   

Catalog of National Archives microfilm reels containing the 1900 census schedules.  Also copy in Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

National Archives Trust Fund Board.  THE 1910 FEDERAL POPULATION CENSUS.  Washington: National Archives, 1982.

SuDoc: (Doc Ref) GS4.2:P81/2/1910 

Catalog of National Archives microfilm reels containing the 1910 census schedules.  Also copy in Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

THE 1920 FEDERAL POPULATION CENSUS.  Washington: National Archives, 1991.

SuDoc: (Doc Ref) GS4.2:P81/2/1920.   

Catalog of National Archives microfilm reels containing the 1920 census schedules.  Also copy in Interlibrary Loan.

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  COMPILED MILITARY RECORDS IN THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES.  Washington: GPO, 1970.

SuDoc: GS4.22:9      

 

 

National Archives and Records Service.  MILITARY SERVICE RECORDS IN THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES OF THE UNITED STATES.  General Information

  Leaflet No. 7.  Washington: GPO, 1985.

SuDoc: GS4.22:7/2     

Briefly describes military service records open to the public 75 years after completion of service.

 

 

Navy Department.  OFFICIAL RECORDS OF UNION AND CONFEDERATE NAVIES IN WAR OF THE REBELLION.  22 vols.  Washington: GPO, 1894-1927.

SuDoc: N16.6:  

Navy records of the Civil War, including an index to individuals' names.

 

 

Library of Congress.  LAND OWNERSHIP MAPS: CHECKLIST OF 19TH CENTURY U.S. COUNTY MAPS IN THE LIBRARY OF CONGRESS.  Washington: GPO, 1967.

SuDoc: LC5.2: L22   

 

 

United States Congress.  U.S. CONGRESSIONAL SERIAL SET.  Washington:

  GPO. 

SuDoc: Y1.1/2:   

Compilation of House and Senate reports and documents. Includes:

 

            SERIAL SET VOLUME 45. Letter from the Secretary of State with

              a transcript of passengers who arrived in the United States

              from the 1st October 1819, to the 30th September, 1820. 

 

 

UNITED STATES STATUTES AT LARGE.  Washington: Office of the Federal

  Register; Boston: C. Little and J. Brown, 1789 - . 

SuDoc: (Doc Ref) KF50 .U5 

The chronological record of public and private laws passed by Congress.  At the end of Part II for each volume is an individual name index to the private laws.  1789-1931 located in New Library microfiche cabinets.  1931- located in New Library Reference Collection.