Find Books

If you need a book, start with the NMSU Library Catalog:

NMSU Library Catalog
Search the NMSU Library's holdings for books, audio, videos, and more.

*Call Number Location Chart

Reference	Zuhl 1st Floor	Q – QC	Branson 2nd Floor
A – J	Zuhl 2nd Floor	QD – SD	Branson 3rd Floor
K – PZ	Zuhl 3rd Floor	SF – Z	Branson 4th Floor

Here are some additional resources for finding books:

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 243,158 titles in the sciences, social sciences, humanities and business.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.

Branigan Public Library
Search the collections of the Las Cruces Public Library.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages.

UTEP Library Catalog
Google Books
Search the contents of millions of books. If you find one you think will be useful, look in our catalog to see if we have a copy.
Library of Congress Call Number Classifications

Linguistics & Literature Call Numbers

Linguistics & Literature call numbers

P - Linguistics and Communications (Zuhl, third floor)

P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics
P1-85 General
P87-96 Communication. Mass media
P94.7 Interpersonal communication
P95-95.6 Oral communication. Speech
P98-98.5 Computational linguistics. Natural language processing
P99-99.4 Semiotics. Signs and symbols
P99.5-99.6 Nonverbal communication
P101-410 Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar
P118-118.75 Language acquisition
P121-149 Science of language (Linguistics)
P201-299 Comparative grammar
P301-301.5 Style. Composition. Rhetoric
P302-302.87 Discourse analysis
P306-310 Translating and interpreting
P321-324.5 Etymology
P325-325.5 Semantics
P326-326.5 Lexicology
P327-327.5 Lexicography
P375-381 Linguistic geography
P501-769 Indo-European (Indo-Germanic) philology
P901-1091 Extinct ancient or medieval languages

PA - Classical Languages and Literature

PC Romanic languages

PC1-5498 Romance
PC1-400 General
PC601-872 Romanian
PC901-986 Raeto-Romance
Including Romansh
PC1001-1977 Italian
PC1981-1984 Sardinian
PC2001-3761 French
PC2700-(3708) Dialects. Provincialisms
PC2813-(2898) Old French
PC3201-3366 Provencal (Old)
PC3371-3420.5 Modern patois of South France
PC3420.8-3495 Langue d'oc dialects
PC3721-3761 Slang. Argot
PC3801-3976 Catalan
PC4001-4977 Spanish
PC5001-5498 Portuguese

PD Germanic languages. Scandinavian languages

PE - English Language

PE1-3729 English
PE101-(458) Anglo-Saxon. Old English
PE501-(693) Middle English
PE(814)-896 Early Modern English
PE1001-1693 Modern English
PE1700-3602 Dialects. Provincialisms, etc.
PE3701-3729 Slang. Argot, etc.

PF West Germanic languages

PG Slavic languages. Baltic languages. Albanian language
PH Uralic languages. Basque language
PJ Oriental languages and literatures
PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures
PL Languages and literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania
PM Hyperborean, Indian, and artificial languages

PN - Literary History & Poetry

PQ - Romance Literatures

PR - English Literature

PS - American Literature

PT - German Literature

PZ - Children's Literature

Reference Books

Selected List of Reference Books for Languages & Linguistics

All located in the Zuhl Library Reference Area, 1st Floor

BOOK TITLE	CALL NUMBER

Encyclopedia of communication theory	P87.5 .E5315 2009
The world atlas of language structures	P143 .W67 2005
The Cambridge encyclopedia of the world's ancient languages	P371 .C357 2004
Diccionario de lingüística moderna	P29 .A43 2004
The atlas of languages : the origin and development of languages throughout the world	P107 .A87 2003
International encyclopedia of linguistics	P29 .I58 2003
21st century American English compendium : a guidebook for translators, interpreters, writers, editors, and advanced language students	PE2835 .R83 2000
Compendium of the world's languages	P371 .C36 2000
Linguistics : a guide to the reference literature	P121 .D45 2000
Concise encyclopedia of educational linguistics	P40.8 .C66 1999
Key concepts in language and linguistics	P29 .T687 1999
Multicultural Spanish dictionary : how everyday Spanish differs from country to country	PC4640 .M26 1999
Dictionary of languages : the definitive reference to more than 400 languages	P371 .D35 1998
A dictionary of literary terms and literary theory	PN41 .C83 1998
Language and communication : a cross-cultural encyclopedia	P29 .F47 1998
Routledge dictionary of language and linguistics	P29 .B8713 1998
The Cambridge encyclopedia of language	P29 .C64 1997
A dictionary of linguistics and phonetics	P29 .C65 1997
Dictionary of worldwide gestures	PN4165 .B37 1997
Linguistic cultures of the world : a statistical reference	P35 .P29 1997
Reference manual for communicative sciences and disorders : speech and language	RC423 .K46 1994
The Encyclopedia of language and linguistics	P29 .E48 1994
Thesaurus of linguistic indexing terms	P1.L15 C65 1992
The Linguistics encyclopedia	P29 .L52 1991

Linguistics

Subject Guide