LibGuides: CEPY 451V: Introduction to Counseling: Databases

Education Databases

I recommend these databases for education research.

There are other databases with research relevant to education but this is a good starting point!

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search the largest education database in the world for research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals in general and specialized psychology.

Finding Articles in Specific Journals

1) Go to Academic Search Complete

2) Click on Choose Databases

Example of where to Choose Databases in Academic Search Premier platform

3) Select Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Education Research Complete, and PsycARTICLES

Example of the boxes to check in the Choose Databases section

4) Type in the journal names of the select journals in parentheses separated by the word OR copy and paste the following paragraph into the search box (including parentheses).

Select SO Source.

Example of how to add journal names along with their parentheses

5) Type in your search terms. Here are some sample topics/ searches for this assignment:

Albert Ellis and (REBT or rational emotive)

(Alfred Adler or Adlerian) and individual psychology

Aaron Beck and (cognitive behavioral or cbt)

(Carl Rogers or Rogerian) and (client centered or person centered)

CEPY 451V: Introduction to Counseling

Journal List

Education Databases

Finding Articles in Specific Journals