LibGuides: HIST 398 : Historians and History: Find Articles

NMSU Research Databases

Many different databases provide references for and full text of articles published in journals, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, etc.Journal articles not available via the Library's subscriptions can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan, or .

The best databases for research on Latin America and history in general are listed below.

List of all Library Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.
Archive of Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes: American State Papers, 1789-1838; the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980; and the Serial Set Maps.
Dissertation & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for academic articles and books in many subscription journals and open access resources. Set your "Scholar Preferences" to find full text access at NMSU and other local or regional collections (see how at nmsu.libguides.com/scholar).
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; coverage Europe, Asia, Africa, South America.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database features full text for more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina.

Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals. JSTOR does not include issues from recent volumes, usually the last 2 to 5 years. Tips for using JSTOR
Lexis-Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current news, business, legal, and reference information.
New Mexico Newspapers (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The electronic editions of record for several New Mexico newspapers.
New York Times, 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Sanborn Digital Maps: New Mexico This link opens in a new window
A valuable historical tools for a wide variety of researchers--essentially anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. These maps are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures.