Originally published in 1995, The Cambridge Gazetteer of the United States and Canada contains more than 12,000 entries of places of all kinds. It is a detailed, alphabetically arranged enyclopedic dictionary of places. It includes coverage of all cities and towns having populations of over 25,000. But the Cambridge Gazetteer is far more than a dictionary of populated places. It contains thousands of entries describing waterways and mountain ranges, parks and historic sites and major urban neighbourhoods. It captures the grand sweep of modern America. Throughout, the book is informed with a sense of the history of each place described and prominent people associated with particular places are described within the appropriate entries. The role of ethnic and minority groups is given significant attention.
With over 170,000 entries, the Columbia Gazetteer of the World is an authoritative A to Z encyclopedia of geographical places and features. Whether you're looking for the ten highest mountain peaks in North America, the major commercial crops in Brazil's economy, all the rivers in Southeast Asia, the former name of the city of Yangon, or the natural resources available in Sub-Saharan Africa, the Gazetteer is the one-stop resource for all your information needs. First published in 1998, the Gazetteer now features new entries and extensive revisions to reflect recent administrative divisions in countries around the world. It also contains new maps, population figures, and an expanded glossary of geographical and geological terms. With its long history of accuracy and authority, there is no other encyclopedia like Gazetteer. The Columbia Gazetteer covers: * The political world-countries, provinces, regions, states, counties, capitals, cities, towns, villages, and neighborhoods. * The physical world-continents, oceans, seas, lakes, lagoons, rivers, bays, inlets, channels, and streams, along with islands, archipelagos, peninsulas, atolls, mountains, mountain ranges, canyons, deserts, valleys, and volcanoes. * And special places-national parks and monuments, historic and archaeological sites, harbors, ports, airports, nuclear plants, canals, and destinations of interest.
The first place-by-place chronology of U.S. history, this book offers the student, researcher, or traveller a handy guide to find all the most important events that have occurred at any locality in the United States.
The U.S. Board on Geographic Names is a federal body created in 1890 and established in its present form by Public Law in 1947 to maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the federal government. The Board comprises representatives of federal agencies concerned with geographic information, population, ecology, and management of public lands. Sharing its responsibilities with the Secretary of the Interior, the Board promulgates official geographic feature names with locative attributes as well as principles, policies, and procedures governing the use of domestic names, foreign names, Antarctic names, and undersea feature names.
The GNS is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names sanctioned by the US Board on Geographic NameThe database also contains variant spellings (which are useful for finding purposes.
TGN is a structured vocabulary, including names, descriptions, and other metadata for extant and historical cities, empires, archaeological sites, and physical features important to research of art and architecture.
This database contains information on 2,000 Jewish communities (Shtetls) in Eastern and Central Europe plus all of the former Soviet Republics, and Turkey, as well as Jewish population figures, historical town names and jurisdictions, and links to JewishGen resources.