When used together effectively, computer-aided design (CAD) and geospatial information systems (GIS) have a solid track record for streamlining decision making and reducing inefficiencies in the design, planning, and execution of critical operations and projects. And a growing number of engineering tasks in numerous fields--including design, architecture, construction, and asset management--now require the knowledge of many interrelated yet disconnected CAD/GIS tools and task-specific software. A multidisciplinary resource delineating existing and emerging solutions for CAD/GIS integration issues, CAD and GIS Integrationprovides a clear understanding of the state of the art in this area of growing importance. It brings together in-depth descriptions of existing and emerging techniques, methodologies, and technologies to examine approaches that enable data and operations interoperability between CAD/GIS. Starting with a review of fundamental concepts and theories, the book: Addresses contemporary issues and challenges Provides a collection of helpful methodologies, techniques, and technologies for integrating CAD and GIS Presents balanced coverage of CAD and GIS technologies and applications Highlights emerging trends in CAD/GIS integration Explores the state-of-the-art in the application of CAD and GIS technologies, data, and operations for decision making From early developments to current trends and future directions, this concise resource allows you to get up to speed quickly on what it takes to get the most of these two dynamic technologies. Numerous example applications of effective CAD/GIS integration provide the understanding needed to improve designs, make better decisions, and reduce or even eliminate costly errors in your next project.
Spatial dimensions need to be properly captured if modeling and engineering techniques are to be successfully applied in addressing environmental problems. The links between the geographical information systems (GIS) that capture this data, simulation modeling, and engineering offer tremendous possibilities for building versatile support systems for managing the environment. GIS, Environmental Modeling and Engineeringfocuses on using GIS and external models to solve real environmental problems, promoting the critical thinking needed for the effective applications of these systems and their analytical outputs. Divided into three major sections, this textbook first concentrates on defining GIS, identifying how data is structured, and explaining common functionality. The text examines GIS from a technological perspective, exploring the evolution of its scientific basis and its synergies with other technologies within a geocomputational paradigm. The next section explores modeling from a neutral scientific perspective in its role of simulating phenomena, as well as from a more specific perspective in its role within environmental science and engineering. The third and largest section looks at how GIS and simulation modeling are joined. It provides case studies and covers issues such as interoperability, data quality, model validity, space-time dynamics, and decision-support systems. This volume provides seniors and postgraduate students with a structured, coherent text that goes beyond introductory subject matter by enabling readers to think critically about the data acquisition process and the results they get from the technology.
The GIS 20 is a no-nonsense workbook that demonstrates how to perform twenty essential GIS skills as indicated by 500 GIS practitioners. Written for professionals with no time for classroom training, this book can be treated as a weekly self-assignment or an as-needed reference. Each chapter offers a handy checklist of basic functions and steps covered in the text, as well as executive level summaries of how the functions are commonly applied for different types of analysis. If you are a GIS beginner, The GIS 20: Essential Skills is your best friend.
GIS for Building and Managing Infrastructure presents a collection of maps that showcase how GIS can be implemented to help develop, manage, and present infrastructure projects. this book demonstrates how GIS can aid processes and promote transparency by providing a single data source from which to work. Featuring case studies from a range of technical support structures including electric and gas utilities, public works, and renewable energy, this book is a reference for anyone involved in the infrastructure industry.
GIS (geographic information system) is a totally cool technology that has been called geography on steroids. GIS is what lets you see the schools in your neighborhood or tells you where the nearest McDonald's is. GIS For Dummies tells you all about mapping terminology and digital mapping, how to locate geographic features and analyze patterns such as streets and waterways, and how to generate travel directions, customer location lists, and much more with GIS. Whether you're in charge of creating GIS applications for your business or you simply love maps, you'll find GIS For Dummies is packed with information. For example, you can: Learn all the hardware and software necessary to collect, analyze, and manipulate GIS data, Explore the difference between 2D and 3D maps, create a map, or manage multiple maps, Analyze patterns that appear in maps and interpret the results, Measure distance in absolute, comparative, and functional ways, Recognize how spatial factors relate to geographic data, Discover how GIS is used in business, the military, city planning, emergency services, land management, and more, Find out how GIS can help you find out where flooding may occur Determine what your organization needs, do appropriate analyses, and actually plan and design a GIS system You'll find dozens of applications for GIS queries and analyses, and even learn to create animated GIS output. Whether your goal is to implement a GIS or just have fun, GIS For Dummies will get you there! Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
This unique text shows students and professionals how geographic information systems (GIS) can guide decision making about complex community and environmental problems. The authors’ step-by-step introduction to GIS-based decision analysis methods and techniques covers important urban and regional issues (land, transportation, and water resource management) and decision processes (planning, improvement programming, and implementation). Real-world case studies demonstrate how GIS-based decision support works in a variety of contexts, with a special focus on community and regional sustainability management. Ideal for course use, the book reinforces key concepts with end-of-chapter review questions; illustrations include 18 color plates.
What is the shortest route between one point and another in a road network? Where is the incidence of disease the highest? How does rainfall correlate with altitude? How does the concentration of a pollutant vary in space, and where do high concentrations correlate with densely populatedareas?Geographical or spatial data play a vital role in many parts of daily life. We are dependent on information about where things are located and about the attributes of those things, either directly, as in the use of a map for navigating around a city, or indirectly, where we use resources like wateror gas. Making use of spatial data requires a whole set of approaches to extract information from those data and make them useful. Underpinning these approaches is the analysis of data. Spatial Data Analysis introduces key principles about spatial data and provides guidance on methods for their exploration; it provides a set of key ideas or frameworks that will give the reader knowledge of the kinds of problems that can be tackled using the tools that are widely available for theanalysis of spatial data.The approach is gradual and systematic; the initial focus is on themes that follow through the rest of the book. These key ideas are introduced, illustrated, and restated to ensure that readers develop a clear understanding of them. Beyond careful explanations, a clear understanding is fostered still further by numerous worked examples and case studies. In short, the stress is on first principles and reinforcement of key ideas throughout - on education rather than simply training, based on the conviction that users of spatialdata analysis tools should know something about how the approaches work rather than simply how to apply them. The Online Resource Centre to accompany Spatial Data Analysis features:For registered adopters of the book:* Figures from the book, available to download.For students:* Synthetic data and worked examples to enable readers to experiment with the methods described in the book.