LibGuides: Entomology, Plant Pathology, and Weed Science: Find Books

Finding Books

The NMSU Library Catalog, contains a wealth of information on entomology and related topics. Search by author, title, keyword, subject, and call number. Through the NMSU Library Catalog you can find books, conference, symposium, and workshop proceeding volumes, NMSU theses and dissertations, and state, federal, and other international documents. Material is cataloged by Library of Congress Subject Headings. The following subject headings may get you started in your search:

forest insects
insects anatomy
insects as carriers of disease
insects behavior
insects classification
insects ecology
insects larvae
insects parasites
insects physiology

Another good way to search is by Keyword. Using the combine keyword search option you can combine various keywords together using AND, OR, and NOT.

Once you have found something of interest note the subject headings and use these in your search.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Beacham’s guide to the endangered species of North America (Vol. 3 Insects) by edited by Walton Beacham, Frank V. Castronova, Suzanne Sessine.
Call Number: QH77.N56 B43 2001 Location: Reference Zuhl 1st Floor
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Gale Research Staff
Call Number: QL3 G7813 2003 Volume 3 Location: Zuhl Reference 1st Floor
ISBN: 0787657794
Publication Date: 2003-11-20
Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Some reviewers call Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The accolades and praise go on for the newest addition to Gales line of reference titles. The original 13-vol. set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, Gale enlisted prominent advisors and contributors from the international scientific community to incorporate recent developments in the animal world. Our new editions of Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.
Elsevier’s dictionary of entomology: in Latin, English, German, French and Italian by Murray Wrobel
Call Number: QL462.3 .E46 2001 Location: Zuhl Library Reference
Encyclopedia of entomology by edited by John L. Capinera
Call Number: QL462.3 .E47 2004 Location: Zuhl Reference
Encyclopedia of insects by editors, Vincent H. Resh, Ring Cardé
Call Number: QL462.3 .E485 2003 Location: Zuhl Reference
A dictionary of entomology by Gordh, Gordon.
Call Number: QL462.3 .G67 2001 Location: Reference Zuhl Library
The Torre-Bueno glossary of entomology by Torre-Bueno, J. R. de la
Call Number: QL462.3 .T67 1989 Location: Zuhl Library Reference
The insect and spider collections of the world by Arnett, Ross
Call Number: QL468.2 .A76 1993 Location: Branson 3rd Floor
An introduction to the aquatic insects of North America by Merritt, R.W. and Cummins, K.W.
Call Number: QL473 .I57 1984 Location: Branson Library 4th floor
Field guide to grasshoppers, katydids, and crickets of the United States by Capinera, John L.
Call Number: QL508.A2 C25 2004 Location: Branson 3rd floor
American beetles by Ross H. Arnett, Jr. and Michael C. Thomas, eds.
Call Number: QL581 .A43 2001 Copy 1
Handbook of vegetable pests by Capinera, John L.
Call Number: SB608.V4 C243 2001 Location: Branson 4th floor
Handbook of household and structural insect pests by Gold, R.E. and Jones, S.C.
Call Number: SB931 .H32 2000 Location: Branson 4th floor
Encyclopedia of pest management by edited by David Pimentel
Call Number: SB950.7 .E63 2002 Location: Branson Library 4th floor
Animal Diversity Web: Class Insecta.
University of Michigan, Museum of Zoology
Bugwood network
The University of Georgia, Warnell School of Forest Resources and College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Department of Entomology.
Includes insect photographs and descriptions for forest pests and invasive species + much more.
Guide to insect borers in North American broadleaf trees and shrubs by J.D. Solomon.
Online Government Document