NMSU Library Databases

NMSU Library databases

Use one or more of the following databases or indexes to find journal articles, dissertations, USDA documents, etc. The databases/indexes are available from the Library's website under the Find Articles link.

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions. Includes journal articles, monographs, series, and materials in many non-print formats covering a broad range of agricultural topics.

CABDirect
Index to international literature in agriculture, with access to book, conference proceedings and journal articles back to 1973.

CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts Archive, produced by CABI Publishing, is comprised of 17 printed abstract journals produced between 1910 and 1972 and includes over 1,860,000 records.
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes research publications from 1982-present on resource and ecosystems management and modeling, the impact of climate, water resources, soil, and man on the environment, and growing environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text scholarly journals including several major ecology journals such as: Annual Review of Ecology and Systematics (1970-1998), Conservation Biology (1987-2000), Ecological Monographs (1931-1999), and Ecology (1920-1999).
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the care journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants...
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains abstracts from journals, conferences and reports covering engineering, scientific and environmental perspectives on water resources. Coverage spans 1967 - present. Available from CSA.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an additional access point to the popular citation databases. Coverage for Science Citation Index is 1900-present and Social Science Citation Index is 1956-present
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in over 6,000 serials plus 1,500 non-serial publications, including professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings, on all aspects of zoology.

Online Databases

Online Databases (open access)

AGRIS
This database is one of the three main agricultural databases along with Agricola and CAB. It is produced and maintained by FAO. It contains over 2.7 million references. Searching is by keyword or by individual fields within a record. 1975-present online.
antbase
Search the world's ant literature by author or taxon. Many papers are available full-text. Agosti, D. and Johnson, N.F. 2005. American Museum of Natural History.
CRIS - Current Research Information System
A searchable database of U.S. Department of Agriculture funded research. Search by keyword, investigator, agency, institution, state, and project status and type. Many records include a list of publications resulting from the research.
FORMIS Ant Bibliography. 1650-2000
A searchable database of approximately 32,000 references on the worldwide ant literature. Center for Medical, Agricultural, and Veterinary Entomology, Agricultural Research Service, USDA.
Image galleries, by Taxonomic Groups
Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources
International Field Guides Database
Database of field guides that were reviewed and assessed to create a listing of over 5,900 titles. Useful for field researchers who wish to determine if a published, portable guide exists which covers a geographic region and/or type of species, or natural history topic.

Entomology, Plant Pathology, and Weed Science

NMSU Library Databases

NMSU Library databases

Online Databases

Online Databases (open access)