NMSU Library databases (restricted access)
The databases listed here are available on campus, but off-campus access is restricted to users affiliated with NMSU. For instructions on accessing databases from off-campus click here.
Many different databases provide online access to articles published in journals, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, etc. A list of the databases to which the NMSU library subscribes can be found here. Journal articles not available via the Library's subscriptions can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan, or by clicking on
- **Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Life & Issues Collection
Includes full text of journals specifically addressing GLBT life. This collection covers gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more. 1980-2010.
- *OneSearch - Advanced
Search multiple databases at the same time.
- America: History & Life
Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.
- CQ Researcher
Each week CQ Researcher examines, in-depth, a single "hot" issue in the news. Each issue contains a pro/con essay.
- History Reference Center
Includes 2,300 books, articles from leading history periodicals, 61,100 historical documents; 66,000 biographies, 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
- New York Times, 1851-2004
Offers search articles & images since to 1851. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. (Excludes last three years)
- Archive of Americana
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as key international sources.
- Access Newspaper Archive
Historical newspapers from 1759 to present. 26 New Mexico newspapers are available.
- Points of View Reference Center
Essays presenting multiple sides of a current issue using magazine articles, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, original documents and reference books. Useful for debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.