This is the "Home" page of the "ChE 422L" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ChE 422L  

Last Updated: Aug 12, 2014 URL: http://nmsu.libguides.com/che422 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Trade Publications

These databases index most chemistry and chemical engineering trade publications.

Journal Articles & Conference Proceedings

  • EI Engineering Village
    Access to the Compendex database of engineering information and other resources for professional engineers. Indexes conference proceedings, book chapters, and journal articles. 1968-
  • Conference Papers Index
    Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science. 1982-.
  • SciFinder Scholar
    Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts.
  • American Chemical Society
    The leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.
  • American Chemical Society Legacy Archive
    ACS Legacy Archives provides full-text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the ACS from 1879 to 1995.
  • Web of Science
    Science Citation Index. 1900-

Standards, Specifications, & Technical Reports


Finding Books

Selected Catalogs

 

Finding an article from a citation

 

Sample citation:

Exposing the true nature of chocolate. Michael Lipske. National Wildlife 41.3 (April-May 2003): p18 (2).

 

First, check to see if the article is available electronically:

Looking in Electronic Journals

The Library provides access to some journals electronically.  Click on the “Articles, Books, Journals, etc” link on the Library homepage (lib.nmsu.edu), scroll down and click on the “Electronic Journals” link, then search by the journal title (not article title) in your citation, or browse the title list by clicking on the first letter of the journal title.

The links from the Full Text Electronic Journals page could take you to several different ways of accessing the title electronically.  Some just link to the database containing the full-text of the journal.  Others pull up all articles from the journal within the database.  Yet others pull up a listing of each issue of the journal within the database. 

title

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If the article you need is not available electronically, then look to see if it is availavle in print:

Looking in the Library Catalog

To check the library catalog, click on the “NMSU Libraries Catalogs” link,  select the "Author/Title/Subject" search option, then the “Journal Title” search from the list of options.  Again, remember to use the title of the journal, not the title of the article.

You need to look at individual entries to see what exactly the Library owns and where it is located.  Generally only the current, unbound issues are in the Current Periodicals Reading Room in Branson.  Older journal issues may be bound and filed with the books upstairs, or replaced by microfiche or microfilm format.  All formats will use the same call number for the journal. 

Check the location using charts available throughout the library or online at lib.nmsu.edu/aboutlib/callnum.html 

 

 

If the article is not available:

InterLibrary Loan  

After checking the library catalog AND the electronic journals links, if you can’t find the journal listed in your citation, use the Interlibrary Loan service to obtain a copy of the article. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip