LibGuides: Handouts and Tutorials: Using Databases: Video Tutorials

Video Tutorials of Databases

This page contains video tutorials of many of the Library's databases. Some are provided by the database, some are made by the NMSU Library, and some are from other libraries (and might therfore mention other univiersities or libraries in the tutorial). We have selected these based on their explanations of how to best use the different databases.

To access any of these databases, go to the Library's list of databases here: http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/articles.shtml

Browse through this page or link directly to the videos from this list:

America: History and Life Basic Search Tutorial
CINAHL: Basic Searching
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Tutorial
from Drexel Libraries - start at :30
CQ Researcher: An Introduction
http://lib.nmsu.edu/depts/reference/documents/tutorials/CQdemo/
EBSCO Advanced Searching
See the list of Library Databases that run on the EBSCO platform to the right ->
EBSCO: Basic Search Demo
See the list of Library Databases that run on the EBSCO platform to the right ->
Engineering Village: All Tutorials
ERIC: Thesaurus Tutorial
Gale Virtual Reference Library: The Basics
HAPI: Advanced Search
HAPI is the Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Homeland Security Digital Library
The New Mexico State University is authorized to search the full HSDL collection (132,000 resources).
IEEE Xplore: All tutorials
IEEE Xplore: Basic Searching
Import Genius
JSTOR Database Tutorial
This tutorial is from Eastern University.
Lexis Nexis Academic: Finding Landmark US Cases
LexisNexis Academic: Find a Specific U.S. Legal Case
LexisNexis Academic: Introduction
MathSciNet
This tutorial is from the University of Waterloo.
MEDLINE
Mergent Online: Creating Custom Comparison Reports
The tutorial was written for an assignment in BUSA 111.
NewsBank: An Overview
NewsBank: Searching for an article in a specific newspaper
Newspaper Archive
This tutorial is from Ohio University - start at :10.
Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)
Oxford English Dictionary Online: A Short Guide
Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music)
Points of View Reference Center
ProQuest: Advanced Searching
See the list of Library Databases that run on theProQuest platform to the right ->
ProQuest: Basic Searching
See the list of Library Databases that run on theProQuest platform to the right ->
Psychiatry Online
PsychINFO
PubMed Basic Search
SciFinder Scholar
This tutorial is from Eastern Michigan University.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps
Web of Science: All Tutorials
See the list of Library Databases that run on the Web of Science platform to the right ->
Web of Science: How to do a Cited Reference Search
See the list of Library Databases that run on the Web of Science platform to the right ->
Web of Science: Quick Tour
See the list of Library Databases that run on the Web of Science platform to the right ->
Web of Science: Search Tips
See the list of Library Databases that run on the Web of Science platform to the right ->
Women and Social Movements in the United States
This tutorial is from Brigham Young University. Start at :15.

Academic Search Premier: Getting Started

Advanced Searching in EBSCO Databases

PsycINFO

America History and Life

Lexis NexisAcademic - Basic Searching

Lexis Nexis Academic - Finding Landmark Cases

Lexis Nexis Academic - Finding a Specific Case

CINAHL

Engineering Village: All Tutorials

Gale Virtual Reference Library: The Basics

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)

Oxfor Music Online (formerly Grove Music)

NewsBank: An Overview

NewsBank: Searching for an article in a specific newspaper

Import Genius

JSTOR

Mergent Online: Creating Custom Comparison Reports

Oxford English Dictionary Online:A Short Guide

PubMed Basic Search

SciFinder Scholar

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps

Database Notes

*The following library databases run on the ProQuest platform:

American Periodicals
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
Bacteriology Abstracts
Conference Papers Index
Dissertations & Theses @ New Mexico State University
Dissertations & Theses A&I
Ecology Abstracts
Environment Abstracts
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Environmental Science Collection
ebrary® e-books
Health & Safety Science Abstracts
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Microbiology A Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts
Microbiology B Bacteriology Abstracts
The New York Times (1851-2009)
PAIS International
Philosopher's Index
Physical Education Index
Pollution Abstracts
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Toxicology Abstracts
TOXLINE
Water Resources Abstracts