Skip to main content

History Resources for Graduate Students

History Research for Graduate Students

Get Started in History Research

Welcome to the Libguide for graduate research in History. The resources below are a great place to start your research.

   Use the menu on the left to find additional resources for finding books, articles, and more.

Find Articles & Primary Source Materials

Start with these databases for finding academic journal articles and newspaper articles. The Sanborn Digital Maps (New Mexico) database allows you to see detailed historical maps of towns and cities in New Mexico. 


Top History Journals (very selective list; available online)


Find Books

Search the Library Catalog to find books on your topic

The NMSU Library Catalog provides access to books, videos, government documents, newspapers, microfilm, archive collections, and many other resources. The Catalog is now part of the Primo Discovery System

When searching in Primo you are searching:

  • Books, DVDs, journals and other physical items found in the Library

  • Most of the library's online journal articles and newspaper content

  • The NMSU Library Special Collections and Digital Archives

What else can I do with Primo?

  • Renew materials you checked out, use My Account.

  • Create and save lists, save to My Research.

  • Order books from other libraries in the NMSU system


     

LOCATIONS OF BOOKS ON NEW MEXICO HISTORY

Books may be in various places in the library depending on the primary subject and how it is cataloged. In most cases, books on New Mexico History in the circulating collection will be on the 2nd floor in Zuhl Library in the call number areas: F791-F805.  There are also a large number of materials on New Mexico History in Special Collections in Branson Library.