This is the "Home" page of the "JSTOR Duplicate Print Journal Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

JSTOR Duplicate Print Journal Project  

JSTOR is an archival collection of downloadable digitized journals in a wide range of disciplines. NMSU Library subscribes to 4 JSTOR archive collections. The Library is removing duplicate print JSTOR volumes due to building structural problems.
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://nmsu.libguides.com/jstor Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

Contact Collection Development Coordinator Susan Beck with overall questions or feedback about the JSTOR withdrawal project.

Contact the subject specialist in your discipline with questions or feedback about specific titles or subjects in the JSTOR duplication project.

If you would like to comment right now, please

 

About the JSTOR deselection project

NMSU Library is embarking on a deselection project (i.e., donate to other libraries or discard and recycle) of print volumes of journals that are duplicated in the JSTOR online journal archive unless they meet one of the retention criteria outlined in the box below. 

JSTOR is an online archive of fully-searchable, printable, and downloadable digitized back issues of scholarly journals in disciplines including arts and sciences, botany and ecology, general sciences and business. Originally a collaboration between the University of Michigan and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR contains full runs of over 1,000 individual journals. The NMSU Library subscribes to four JSTOR collections: Arts and Sciences I, II, III and Biological Sciences. 

Within the past several years, the NMSU Library has become a member of two important digital preservation organizations. Last year the Library joined Portico, a digital preservation service that provides access to electronic journal back files in the event of an emergency. Our membership in Portico provides us with an additional measure of confidence in our ability to access permanently electronic journal titles held in JSTOR.

In Fall 2012, the Library became a member of WEST, the Western Regional Storage Trust, a distributed retrospective print journal repository program serving research libraries, college and university libraries, and library consortia in the Western Region of the United States. Through our WEST membership, we are able to optimize library space while ensuring access to the scholarly print record, including access to JSTOR titles should we ever lose electronic access. 

With JSTOR, Portico and West in place, NMSU Library is in position to move forward with critical decisions related to access, storage, and space. Under normal circumstances, print duplicates of journal titles which NMSU owns electronically through JSTOR will be withdrawn from the collection.

We are seeking faculty feedback on the project and journal list by December 17, 2012. Please review the titles listed here. Contact your library subject specialist or Susan Beck if you believe the Library needs to retain a print copy of a JSTOR journal. Keep in mind that we will have continued electronic access to all JSTOR titles in our subscribed collections.

 

Print Retention Criteria

Criteria for determining whether to maintain on-campus print archive of journal volumes already archived electronically through JSTOR 

Bound volumes of journals may be retained if:

  • Their content and use rely to a substantial degree on the quality of illustrative materials (tables, graphs, photos, illustrations, musical notation, scripts, etc.), and this quality is not retained in the electronic version.
  • The journal is of regional interest
 

JSTOR

 

JSTOR at NMSU

NMSU subscribes to four archival JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II & III and the Biological Sciences collections. 

See the full list of available collections and titles.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip