Skip to main content

NMSU PREP High School Academy

NMSU Library Services for Community Users

The NMSU Library welcomes members of the community to use its resources. As a land-grant institution, serving the academic and intellectual pursuits of all New Mexico residents is an integral part of its mission.
These services are available to all visitors:

  • Access to library books and materials in open collections.
  • Access to federal and state government information.
  • Access to and assistance with the library’s Archives and Special Collections, specifically the Hobson-Huntsinger University Archives, Political Papers Archives, Rio Grande Historical Collections and Special Collections.
  • Access to the library’s extensive digital collections such as The Round Up, NMSU Extension and Experiment Center Publications, NMSU Yearbooks, via the library’s web page.
  • Assistance in locating collections and services.
  • Reference assistance including basic instruction in using research tools and in finding information.
  •  Remote access to the library catalog.
  • Access to electronic resources when in the library.
  • Guest access to selected computer workstations
  • Copy services including free scanning, fee-based photocopy services, faxing and other services and supplies.

Community users are welcome to use the library’s collections, services and pleasant physical spaces during regular library hours (http://lib.nmsu.edu/aboutlib/libhours.shtml).


Public Use of Computers Visitors may use selected workstations on the 1st Floor of Zuhl and Branson Libraries These workstations provide basic Internet access to the library's electronic resources. Community access to these publicly available computers is metered for one hour use. Community users may renew access unless there is a queue.


Electronic Resources Access to our subscription/licensed electronic databases is available onsite. Remote access is not permitted due to licensing restrictions. A wide variety of databases (with remote access) are available from a user’s local public library or the New Mexico State Library (http://elportalnm.org)


Circulation/Borrowing Privileges Community users may apply for a guest borrowers card (http://lib.nmsu.edu/services/documents/guestborrower.pdf) and can borrow up to five items at a time, for a four week loan period, with no renewals. If an item is lost, damaged, or not returned, community users will be charged the replacement cost plus a $15.00 (non-refundable) processing fee.


Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary loan is not available to community users, guests, or alumni. Community users are urged to use their local public library’s interlibrary loan service.