Skip to main content

Handouts and Tutorials

Video Tutorials of Databases

This page contains video tutorials of many of the Library's databases.  Some are provided by the database, some are made by the NMSU Library, and some are from other libraries (and might therfore mention other univiersities or libraries in the tutorial).  We have selected these based on their explanations of how to best use the different databases.

To access any of these databases, go to the Library's list of databases here: http://lib.nmsu.edu/resources/articles.shtml

Browse through this page or link directly to the videos from this list:

Academic Search Premier: Getting Started

Advanced Searching in EBSCO Databases

PsycINFO

America History and Life

Lexis NexisAcademic - Basic Searching

Lexis Nexis Academic - Finding Landmark Cases

Lexis Nexis Academic - Finding a Specific Case

CINAHL

Engineering Village: All Tutorials

Gale Virtual Reference Library: The Basics

Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)

Oxfor Music Online (formerly Grove Music)

NewsBank: An Overview

NewsBank: Searching for an article in a specific newspaper

Import Genius

JSTOR

Mergent Online: Creating Custom Comparison Reports

Oxford English Dictionary Online:A Short Guide

PubMed Basic Search

SciFinder Scholar

U.S. Congressional Serial Set

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps

Database Notes

*The following library databases run on the ProQuest platform:

  • American Periodicals
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
  • Bacteriology Abstracts
  • Conference Papers Index
  • Dissertations & Theses @ New Mexico State University
  • Dissertations & Theses A&I
  • Ecology Abstracts
  • Environment Abstracts
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
  • Environmental Science Collection
  • ebrary® e-books
  • Health & Safety Science Abstracts
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
  • Microbiology A Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts
  • Microbiology B Bacteriology Abstracts
  • The New York Times (1851-2009)
  • PAIS International
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Physical Education Index
  • Pollution Abstracts
  • PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)
  • Sustainabilty Science Abstracts
  • Toxicology Abstracts
  • TOXLINE
  • Water Resources Abstracts

**The following library databases run on the EBSCO platform:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Agricola
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information
  • America: History & Life 
  • Anthropology Plus 
  • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) 
  • Business Source Premier 
  • CAB Abstracts 
  • CAB Abstracts Archive 
  • CINAHL Complete 
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts 
  • eBook Academic Collection
  • EconLit 
  • Education Research Complete 
  • Environment Complete 
  • ERIC
  • FSTA - Food Science and Technology Abstracts 
  • GeoRef
  • GreenFILE
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  • Historical Abstracts 
  • History Reference Center 
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
  • Literary Reference Center 
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook 
  • MLA International Bibliography 
  • Music Index 
  • PsycARTICLES 
  • PsycINFO
  • Regional Business News 
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature 
  • Small Engine Repair Reference Center 
  • Social Work Abstracts 
  • SocINDEX 
  • Teacher Reference Center 
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide 

***The following databases run on the Web of Science platform:

  • Web of Science Core Collection
  • Biological Abstracts
  • MEDLINE
  • Zoological Record

Web of Science - Search Tips

Web of Science - Quick Tour

Web of Science - Cited Reference Search

Web of Science: All Tutorials

ERIC - Basic Search Demo

ERIC - Thesaurus Tutorial

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

This tutorial is from Drexel University Libraries - start it at :30

MEDLINE

CQ Researcher - An Introduction

ProQuest - Basic Search

ProQuest Advanced Searching

HAPI: Advanced Search

Homeland Security Digital Library

IEEE Xplore: Basic Searching

IEEE Xplore: All videos

MathSciNet

Newspaper Archive

Points of View Reference Center Tutorial

Psychiatry Online

Checkpoint: All Tutorials

Statistical Abstracts of the United States via ProQuest

Women and Social Movements in the United States