LibGuides: ARTH 1115G : Orientation in Art: Home

Welcome to ARTH 1115

Welcome to the NMSU Library research guide for ARTH 1115, Orientation in Art. The resources below are a great place to start your research.

Online Reference

Online Reference Sources -- The following resources can help you build a foundation of knowledge.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A robust art research database providing full-text art journals and magazines, plus detailed indexing and abstracts. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Bibliography of the History of Art - BHA This link opens in a new window
Covers European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Oxford Art Online (Grove) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Grove Dictionary of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. 3 concurrent users.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
Art & Architecture Thesaurus provides access to metadata about art, architecture, and cultural heritage, both extant and historical. The metadata is gathered or linked from museum collections, special collections, archives, libraries, scholarly research, and other sources.
The J. Paul Getty Museum
The J. Paul Getty Museum collection comprises Greek, Roman, and Etruscan art from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity; European art—including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts—from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century; and international photography from its inception to the present day.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History)
This is an authoritative website about the entire history of art that includes images with descriptive information, essays, and maps from the museum collection. Search by artist's last name or style/period of art.
Museum of Modern Art Collection
MoMA has a collection of almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 81,000 works are currently available online.
National Gallery of Art
The National Gallery of Art in Washington DC online collection offers tens of thousands of images. Browse or search the collection and make connections among objects you know and newly discovered masterpieces

Journals

Journals (print & electronic) -- Most electronic journals are available through the databases listed above. Print journals are shelved in the stacks, primarily in N (Zuhl, 3rd floor) but print photography journals are found in TR (Branson, 4th floor). Below is a link to look at journals in the areas of Art, Architecture, and Applied Arts. This includes Fine Arts, Gardens, Landscape Architecture, and the visual arts, such as painting, photography, and sculpture.

Electronic Journals for Art, Architecture, & Applied Arts
Drill down to sub-categories such as Architecture, Fine Arts, Visual Arts, to find more precise lists of journals.

Print Reference

Print Reference Books -- Here are some selections to get you started!

Art History by Marilyn Stokstad; David A. Binkley (Contribution by); Claudia L. Brittenham (Contribution by); Michael W. Cothren; Frederick M. Asher (Contribution by); Douglass Bailey (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref N5300 .S923 2011
ISBN: 9780205744220
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Good start for beginning your research. Available in the Zuhl Library Reference section, 1st floor.
The Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Ref N31.D5 1996
ISBN: 1884446000
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of art throughout the entire world, across all centuries.
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by James Hall; Kenneth Clark
Call Number: N7560.N34 2008
ISBN: 9780813343938
Publication Date: 2007-12-25
Another excellent starting point. Also in the Reference section of Zuhl Library, 1st floor.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by Helene E. Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: N7560.E53 1998
ISBN: 1579580092
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Excellent starting point to find themes in art. It is in the Reference section, 1st floor, Zuhl Library
The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists by Ian Chilvers
Call Number: N33 .O93 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-03
This reference book covers Western Art from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Located in the Reference Section in Zuhl Library