Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections

Getting to Know Salena Valdez, Library Specialist

by Dylan McDonald on 2022-01-25T00:00:00-07:00 | Comments

Getting to Know ASC staff is a series spotlighting staff from the NMSU Archives and Special Collections department.   

Shifting books at Branson Library, December 2021

Background information:

Hello, my name is Salena Valdez. I am originally from the Los Angeles County area. I moved to Las Cruces, New Mexico when I was a sophomore in high school. I have two dogs named Holly and Huey. Holly is a beagle and Huey is a mixed breed. Although I am not originally from New Mexico, I have lived here for more than half of my life, and I have grown to appreciate its beauty and history. 

Educational background:

I received my undergraduate degree in business from New Mexico State University. My business degree provided a good foundation, but I wanted to pursue something that matched my interests. Without having any library experience, I chose to pursue a graduate degree in Library and Information Science from San Jose State University. I completed my graduate degree in December 2019. Currently, I am pursuing a graduate certificate in Museum Studies at NMSU. 

Staff photo with F-117 aircraft, Holloman AFB, NM, c. 2007

Las Cruces Sun-News (October 8, 2009, page 6A) article announcing my first deployment in 2009.

Role at NMSU Archives:

I decided to pursue employment related to my Master’s degree, which brought me back to New Mexico State University as a Library Specialist with the Archives and Special Collections department. I am the student supervisor for the department, and I work on various projects that include book shifting, oral history transcribing, and reference help. 

Previous archival experience:

Although I have had no previous archival experience, besides graduate coursework, I have gained invaluable knowledge in the first four months that I have worked with the department. I am incredibly grateful to my supervisor and colleagues for hiring me and taking the time to teach me their specialized skills. Also, I am grateful to the entire NMSU Library for welcoming me and assisting in my transition. I consider it a privilege to be working with such outstanding professionals, and I am excited to assist the community with their research needs.  

Random fact people do not know about me:

I served in the United States Air Force for six years. When I enlisted, I hoped to get stationed anywhere but New Mexico. The Air Force stationed me at Holloman Air Force Base in Alamogordo, NM. I guess I was meant to stay in New Mexico for a reason, and I am so glad I did. 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.