NMSU Library databases (restricted access)

Library Databases (all)

Those listed below provide the best access to geography research; some databases are specific to a discipline; others cover a wide variety of subjects. The database will often provide access to fulltext articles, or will link to the online journal if the library has a subscription. Each database is different so look for links to “text”, “fulltext”, or “pdf”. Most also have a "Find Fulltext at NMSU" link that searches across all of the library databases to see if another one contains fulltext of the article you need. If no fulltext is found, you can search the library catalog to see if we own a paper copy of the journal. If the library has no access you can request a copy of the article through ILLIAD—Interlibrary Loan/Information Delivery Service.

Journals

You can search for the titles of individual journals or browse a list of journals by subject. Here's a link to the geography journals They are listed A-Z by title. The links will take you to the library's record for the journal. Once you get to that record, if the title is available online, it will give you a link to connect to that title.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons. Academic Video Online Complete Film List July 2023.xlsx
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to social sciences and humanities literature on Latin America. Coverage: 1935 – present.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides thousands of fulltext government reports and articles on security topics, including international border issues and other geography topics. Link using the Library Article Databases page to avoid being asked for a userid & password.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Latin America Digital Beats This link opens in a new window
A collaborative initiative sponsored by the University Libraries, Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center, and the Law Library. This service hosts scholarly work by UNM faculty and researchers, graduate student theses and dissertations, UNM Archives documents and records, open access electronic journals and monographs, and a variety of research and educational collections about New Mexico and the Southwest. Fulltext articles on Latin American news, economics, politics; 1986 - 2018.
LatinNews This link opens in a new window
Provides expert political, economic, and security analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. Provides access to our subscriptions to the Latin American Weekly Report and to the Latin American Regional Reports.
Lexis-Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current news, business, legal, and reference information.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fulltext scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of topics ranges from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from journals, conferences and reports covering engineering, scientific and environmental perspectives on water resources. Coverage: 1967-present.

GEOG 328 : Geography of Latin America

NMSU Library databases (restricted access)