LibGuides: Music: Find Articles

NMSU Library Databases

Oxford Music Online (Grove) This link opens in a new window
This database includes access to the New Groves Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers every aspect of classical and popular music. In addition to full-text journals, it includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Contains citations of international music research, including articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings, Festschriften, films, iconographies, and videos. 1967 – present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals. JSTOR does not include issues from recent volumes, usually the last 2 to 5 years.

Other Databases

Beethoven Bibliography Database
The Aria Database
Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums
Current periodicals in all major languages.

Finding an article from a citation

Sample citation:

Greenhill, Jennifer A. "Troubled Abstraction: Whiteness In Charles Dana Gibson And George Du Maurier."Art History 34.4 (2011): 732-753..

1. From the Library's main web page, select the Find Articles tab
2. Then click on - Citation Linker is useful if you already have a reference or citation
3. Fill out the citation form. Include: article title, journal title, volume and beginning page number.

4. If the journal is available online, the screen will display links to databases where you can retrieve your article.

5. If not available online, search the library catalog for print journal holdings

6. If you can’t find the journal listed in your citation either online or in print, use the Interlibrary Loan service to obtain a copy of the article.