Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering

Standards

Searching for Standards

The following databases provide standard number, title, and keyword searching for citations and abstracts to over 235,000 technical standards from more than 460 standards developing organizations:

IHS Standards and Specs IHS is a fairly most comprehensive source of hardcopy and PDF technical industry standards and government and military standards.

NSSN Standards Site The NSSN is administered by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

Once you locate the standard you want, search the Library's catalog to see if the Library owns it. The Library has a good print collection of the following standards:

ACI: American Concrete Institute, ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers, AWWA: American Water Works Association, NFC: National Fire Code Universal Building Codes and the other universal codes, UL: Underwriter's Laboratory, ISO: International Organization for Standardization, ANSI: American National Standards Institute

Other Standards sites:

Department of Energy (DOE) Technical Standards - available full-text via Department of Energy.

Standards Portal Provides standards for those doing business with India and the People’s Republic of China. Administered by ANSI.

Conference Proceedings

Use the link below to access Dept. of Energy's conference proceedings and papers from scientific meetings and national labs covering DOE's interest areas, such as: particle physics, nuclear physics, chemistry, petroleum, aeronautics and astronautics, meteorology, engineering, computer science, electric power, and fossil fuels.

Science Conference Proceedings

Technical Reports

Domestic

Federal WWW Locator The FedWorld.gov web site is a gateway to government information. This site is managed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) as part of its information management mandate.

Defense Technical Information Center DTIC provides access to scientific and technical information concerning defense research and the defense industry.

Department of Energy Provides access to full-text DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer science, renewable energy, and other topics.

Department of Transportation Access Reports, Dockets & Regulations, as well as Grant programs.

Environmental Protection Agency Access to EPA reports, related technical reports, press releases and environmental resources.

University of Maryland Virtual Technical Reports Center contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.

E-print Network is an "integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels."

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) "is the Federal Government's central source for the sale of scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information produced by or for the U.S. Government and complementary material from international sources." Reports may be obtained through ILLiad.

TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.

Geologic Survey Publications Warehouse A searchable database of all USGS publications. 1882-present

National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) includes a bibliographic database and full text for selected reports published from 1917-1958. NACA was abolished and its functions were transferred to NASA in 1958.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Scientific and Technical Information Program provides: NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users.

National Academy Press Reading Room: online access to 1,000+ full text publications in science, technology and public policy. National Academy Press is the publisher for the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

Los Alamos National Research Library holds about 1.5 million unclassified technical reports, in paper, microfiche and electronic formats. We are an archival resource for Los Alamos reports, with all formal LA reports since 1943 and many LA-URs. Most Los Alamos reports are available electronically.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory Contains data, pictures, summaries of NREL publications - including some in full text - about alternative fuels, renewable resources and related topics.

International

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) Research and Technology Reports This database contains citations and full-text access to technical reports from the various organizations in NATO.

World Resources Institute provides the complete texts of over 300 reports, papers, and books on environmental issues. Includes online editions of its flagship publication, World Resources. Many publications are available in Adobe Acrobat format from the Publications Menu.

WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases. The database provides one-stop searching of global science sources. It currently searches 15 countries technical reports collections at once.