Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Business

Doing Business in Africa Resources

African Studies Internet Resources. Columbia University Libraries. A very valuable portal for research on Africa. Information is available for individual countries as well as for topics. Follow the topic link to Business & Economic Information. Site provides business news including approximately 1,000 new stories daily. Searchable by country and by topic.

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa. (COMESA) This is a trade organization for 19 member countries including Burundi, Comoros, D.R. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Development Gateway. This is a non-profit organization with lists of business opportunities in Africa. It also serves as a source of web-based platforms to make development efforts and business start-ups more successful.

Economic Community of Central African States. (CEEAS) Member states include Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Gabon, Congo, D.R. Congo, Equitorial Guinea, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, and Chad. French language.

Economic Community of West African States. (ECOWAS) Member States include Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissauy, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

MBendi. Portal with information sorted by country and by major industry segments. A valuable tool is the Advanced Search option nearly hidden on the upper right corner of the homepage.

Moneyweb. South African investment site, with very useful link called Daily Indicators. This has the latest information about the JSE (formerly Johannesburg Stock Exchange), currencies, commodity pricing and company announcements. Offers radio report podcasts.

Southern African Development Community. (SADC) Member states include Angola, Botswana, D.R. Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.