Skip to Main Content

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Welcome to the Chemistry & Biochemistry subject guide. This contains selected core reference and other literature finding aids for this subject area.

Featured Chemistry Resource!

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
A research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! SciFinder Scholar for the Web is an electronic version of Chemical Abstracts starting from 1907 to the present.
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative sources of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
Sign Into SciFinder Scholar here if you are already registered
Register to use SciFinder Scholar, if you are a new user
1. From the user registration page, click "Next" to begin registration as a new user
2. Provide the required registration information (only your NMSU email address will be recognized)
3. Click the "Register" button
4. A message indicates that you will receive an email from CAS to the address specified in the form
5. Read the email message from CAS and follow the instructions
6. A confirmation page indicating that registration is complete will be displayed
7. Click the link provided in the email message to start working with SciFinder on the web
Email us or call 1 (575) 646-5792 if you have questions about SciFinder Scholar.

Find Articles Using Article Databases

PubMed

"PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites."
TOXLINE

"Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, TOXLINE provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the care journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens."
Toxicology Abstracts

"Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. 1981 to the present. "
Web of Science

"Provides an additional access point to the popular citation databases. Coverage for Science Citation Index is 1900-present and Social Science Citation Index is 1956-present."