Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics

Welcome to the Physics subject guide. This guide contains selected core reference and other literature finding aids for this subject area.

How to find books in the library

How to find print books:

To search the books collection, go to the NMSU Library Catalog. 

Select the “Advanced” option for better retrieval. (Example: ‘radiation energy’ AND 'photons'). Click on the title of the book that you find relevant from the results list and click on the “subject(s)”. This leads to further resources that can either narrow or broaden your search. To search book collections beyond those owned by the NMSU library, use WorldCat. Books not owned by NMSU can be borrowed from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan, or ILLiad.

How to find electronic books:

From NMSU library website's ‘Other Catalogs’, or 'Article Indexes' and select E-book Collection (EBSCO).  This provides access to library’s ebooks that you can access 24 hours a days, 7 days a week.

 

Many library resources and services are restricted to NMSU students, faculty, and staff. If you are off-campus, use your myNMSU name and password to log into library resources when prompted.

How to find journals and journal articles in the library

How to find journal articles:

Many different databases provide online indexes to articles published in journals, newspapers, magazines, conference proceedings, etc. A list of databases/article indexes to which the NMSU library subscribes can be found below under NMSU Databases.

Journal articles not available via the library's subscriptions can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan or ILLiad, found below.

Journal articles not available via the library's subscriptions can be obtained from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan or ILLiad.

To find journal articles in physics areas click on the links below. Read the short description for each database to select the best database for your need:

Physical Sciences Databases

Engineering & Technology Databases

How to find journals:

Journals are available in print and/or electronic formats. To see if the library subscribes to a journal, search by the title of the journal: Search for electronic holding via the Electronic Journals by title. Search for print holdings in the Library Catalog.

Here is a list of subject headings leading to physics journals:

Subject Headings in Physical Sciences & Mathematics

Many library resources and services are restricted to NMSU students, faculty, and staff. If you are off-campus, use your myNMSU name and password to log into library resources when prompted.

Library of Congress classification for Physics

NMSU library uses the Library of Congress (LC) Call Numbers to classify and organize books, journals and magazines.

Physics call numbers

 

 Subclass QC

QC1-999        Physics

QC1-75                   General

QC81-114                Weights and measures

QC120-168.85          Descriptive and experimental mechanics 

QC170-197              Atomic physics. Constitution and properties of matter Including molecular physics, relativity, quantum theory, and solid state physics

QC221-246              Acoustics. Sound

QC251-338.5            Heat

QC310.15-319                    Thermodynamics

QC350-467              Optics. Light

QC450-467                        Spectroscopy

QC474-496.9            Radiation physics (General)

QC501-766              Electricity and magnetism

QC501-(721)                     Electricity

QC669-675.8                               Electromagnetic theory

QC676-678.6                               Radio waves (Theory)

QC701-715.4                               Electric discharge

QC717.6-718.8                            Plasma physics. Ionized gases

QC750-766                        Magnetism

QC770-798              Nuclear and particle physics. Atomic energy. Radioactivity

QC793-793.5                     Elementary particle physics

QC794.95-798                    Radioactivity and radioactive substances

QC801-809              Geophysics. Cosmic physics

QC811-849              Geomagnetism

QC851-999              Meteorology. Climatology Including the earth's atmosphere

QC974.5-976                     Meteorological optics

QC980-999                        Climatology and weather

QC994.95-999                             Weather forecasting

 

 

 

A guide in .pdf to print

This handout shows you how the items in the library is categorized using the Library of Congress Classification System. When you know the Call Number for an item (a book, journal, DVD, etc.,) you can consult this hand out to find the exact location of the item at the NMSU Library.