LibGuides: Physics: NMSU Library Databases

NMSU Library Databases

A list of databases to find articles in physics and related areas:

NASA Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of research in astronomy and astrophysics.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all the Abstracts Plus records and full text of select IEEE conference proceedings published since 1998. Coverage also includes IEEE journals, transactions and magazines since 1998, which means more than 324,000 full text documents and 3 million abstract records. 50 concurrent users.
Nuclear Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of international nuclear science and technology literature for the period 1948 through 1976. It includes citations to scientific and technical reports from the Atomic Energy Commission, the U.S. Energy Research and Development Administration and its contractors, plus other agencies and international organizations, universities, and industrial and research organizations.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts, CAplus, MedLine, CASREACT.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 12,000 of the world's premier scientific and scholarly journals, along with conference proceedings, book contents,and other materials. While its main focus is the sciences, it also includes arts and humanities and the social sciences.
Techstreet Standards This link opens in a new window
Search one of the world's largest collections of industry codes and standards before requesting the Library purchase the one(s) you need.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles that cover all aspects of human impact on the environment.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals. JSTOR does not include issues from recent volumes, usually the last 2 to 5 years. Tips for using JSTOR

Online, Open Access Databases

Open access literature is digital publications that can be accessed through internet, free of charge and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions:

AIP Advances
This is a fast-track, community-style open access journal, focusing on applied research in the physical sciences.

arXiv e-Print archive (includes Quantitative Biology) This link opens in a new window
An open access database with 550,526 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. This is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. It is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals & thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. This aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content

E Print Network
This is a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
Energy Citations Database
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
Energy PolySearch Engine
Find citations, abstracts and/or full text documents related to energy science and technology.
Many of these databases provide additional features, such as citation tracing, finding related
items, that even your fee-based services may not offer.
SPIE Reviews
SPIE Reviews is a peer-reviewed, open-access online journal that publishes invited review articles covering the state of the art of emerging and rapidly evolving optics and photonics technologies and their applications. The journal also features links to review articles published in other SPIE Journals on the SPIE Digital Library. All articles and supplemental materials in SPIE Reviews are open access and freely available to all.

"Open Access"

What is 'Open Access'?

A short introduction to Open Access

"Open Access Overview"

Open Access Directory