Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History

NMSU Reference Books

The Reference Collection is located in Zuhl, 1st floor - just past the Reference Desk. Library Hours & Reference Desk Hours here.

The Reference collection is a good place to begin your research. Reference books help researchers contextualize their topics and so begin thinking about their subject in useful ways. Reference books can help you search databases more efficiently by providing keywords, or search terms, to use -- and they also contain bibliographies that will point you to respected sources. What follows are some guides to historical reference works, but you will want to come to Zuhl to browse the collection. Check the Books tab of this guide for the call numbers relevant to your research.

eReference

Gail Virtual Reference Library Americans at War , 4v, 2005
Countries and Their Cultures , 4v, 2001
Dictionary of American History , 3rd ed., 10v, 2003
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library , 4v, 2005
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America , 2nd ed., 3v, 2000
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History , 2v, 1999
Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia , 3rd ed., 2003

Professional Assns.

American Historical Association. Founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history.

American Society for 18th Century Studies. Dedicated to the advancement of scholarship in all aspects of the period from the later seventeenth through the early nineteenth century.

Historical Society of New Mexico.

Medieval Academy of America.

Oranization of American Historians. The Organization of American Historians is the largest learned society devoted to the study of American history.

Society for Historical Archaeology.

World History Association.