Genealogy Research

Academic Search Premier is a database of scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study including biological sciences, economics, communications, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, social sciences and the like. Includes many full-text articles.

Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.

This unique collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II.

The American State Papers provides primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838 and consists of approximately 6280 numbered publications, largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials, issued from 1832-1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals.

The digital Archive of Americana is a family of comprehensive historical collections that allows researchers to discover and explore the United States in unprecedented depth and detail. The unique primary source materials offer opportunities for students and scholars to make original discoveries and new findings on nearly every aspect of the United States over nearly three centuries.

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.

The database features full text for more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. It also includes full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals and more than 61,100 historical documents; more than 66,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Archive of scholarly journals. JSTOR does not include issues from recent volumes, usually the last 2 to 5 years.

Sanborn fire insurance maps are valuable historical tools for a wide variety of researchers--essentially anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. These maps are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. * This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas. The New Mexico collection contains 209 maps from 51 cities, spanning a period from the 1880s to the late 1940s.

Map images, records, and indexing for maps published in Reports and Documents of the 42nd Congress, 3rd session (1872) through the 52nd Congress, 1st session (1892).

Begun in 1817 as the official collection of congressional reports and documents, this collection was published in a "serial" fashion, hence its name. This digitized version from Readex includes congressional documents from the 15th (1817) through the 70th (1928) Congress. The complete set should be completed by Fall 2008.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 40 million bibliographic records representing 400 languages.