Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertations and Theses

This guide will show you the various ways in which you can find dissertations and theses at NMSU.

Finding Dissertations and Theses Online

If you wish to find other dissertations or theses not associated with NMSU online you can use the Dissertations @ Thesis A&I database. Dissertations and Theses found in this database go as far back as the 1800s from most North American universities. Below is an example of how to find dissertations and theses using the advanced search of this database using Psychology as a subject heading search term, Smith as an Author search term and the University of Texas at El paso as an all fields (broad) search term:

Full Text Copies of Non-NMSU Dissertations and Theses

If you come across a dissertation or thesis that is not full text in the Dissertations @ Thesis A&I database, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form through the Request It! service. In order to log in to Request It! students need to use their NMSU ID and Password (the same id and password that you would use to log into your NMSU email account). First time users will neeed to fill out some brief registration information before they fill out an Interlibrary Loan request.

World Wide ETD Index

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (click here) is a global index of freely available electronic theses and dissertations provided by major ETD (Electronic Theses and Dissertatinos) collections around the world. This index lets you search for information about each ETD (such as authors, titles, and abstracts). This is another great resource in searching for non-NMSU theses and dissertations.