LibGuides: GEOG 501 : Research Design and History of Geographic Thought: Find Articles

Find Articles

Electronic Journals

The electronic geography journals are distributed among a variety of library databases. The following link will display subject areas for the geography journal titles and availability within the databases:

Subject Headings in Earth & Environmental Sciences

Library Databases

As geography is quite the interdisciplinary subject, the best databases to start your search are Academic Search Premier and Web of Science. Another good option is to begin with Google Scholar. Below are a list of databases that may be of use for your research:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 12,000 of the world's premier scientific and scholarly journals, along with conference proceedings, book contents,and other materials. While its main focus is the sciences, it also includes arts and humanities and the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals. JSTOR does not include issues from recent volumes, usually the last 2 to 5 years. Tips for using JSTOR
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for academic articles and books in many subscription journals and open access resources. Set your "Scholar Preferences" to find full text access at NMSU and other local or regional collections (see how at nmsu.libguides.com/scholar).
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes research publications from 1982 to the present on resource and ecosystems management and modeling, the impact of climate, water resources, soil, and man on the environment, and growing environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals & thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. This aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
A change log showing journals added to DOAJ, automatically updated since 1 February 2024.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s. Covers subject areas of ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, abstracts and citations from several thousand academic journals, general periodicals, magazines and newspapers.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database provides access to material in geology and the earth sciences; 1785 - present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to social sciences and humanities literature on Latin America from 1935 - present. Produced by the Library of Congress Hispanic Division.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) offers full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts from journals, conferences and reports covering water-related topics. Subjects include the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covering 1935 (and some earlier) to the present, this is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. 5 concurrent users.

I have a citation or know exactly which article I want... how do I find the full-text article?

1. See if the NMSU Library provides electronic access. Search by the name of the journal.

Search electronic journals by Journal Title

2. If it is not available electronically, check to see if it is available in print.

Search print journals by Journal Title

3. If it is not available in print, order the article via Interlibrary Loan.

Request It!