LibGuides: Public History: Digital History

Find Articles

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to article abstracts in over 2000 history journals; regional focus on the United States and other countries in North America.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Search the largest education database in the world for research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
The database features full text for more than 2,300 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Journals

This list is not comprehensive. Visit the NMSU Library online to search journal titles. Digital Humanities is multidisciplinary and can include elements from various fields of study. Consider broadening your search terms to yield the best results.

Additional Online Resources

NEH Office of Digital Humanities
Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) that offers grant programs addressing cultural changes stemming from digital technology.
Digital Humanities Initiative
Located at Hamilton College, DHi is a collaboratory – digital parlance for a research and teaching collaboration – where new media and computing technologies are used to promote humanities-based teaching, research, and scholarship across the liberal arts.
Center for Public History + Digital Humanities
The Center for Public History + Digital Humanities at Cleveland State University Department of History develops state-of-the-art public humanities projects and resources rooted in scholarly disciplines in concert with university and K-12 educators and students, libraries, museums and cultural institutions, and neighborhood organizations.
Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
Located at George Mason University, the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media uses digital media and technology to preserve and present history online, transform scholarship across the humanities, and advance historical education and understanding. Each year RRCHNM’s many project websites receive over 20 million visitors, and over a million people rely on its digital tools to teach, learn, and conduct research.
Digital History
This Web site was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and is supported by the College of Education at the University of Houston.

Professional Organizations

Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations
The Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) promotes and supports digital research and teaching across all arts and humanities disciplines, acting as a community-based advisory force, and supporting excellence in research, publication, collaboration and training.
Association for Computers and the Humanities
The Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) is a major professional society for the digital humanities. We support and disseminate research and cultivate a vibrant professional community through conferences, publications, and outreach activities. ACH is based in the US, but boasts an international membership.
Digital Library Federation
The Digital Library Federation is a robust and diverse community of practitioners who advance research, teaching and learning through the application of digital library research, technology and services. DLF serves as a resource and catalyst for collaboration among digital library developers, project managers, and all who are invested in digital library issues.