Summer Programs Guide

Finding Scholarly Articles at the NMSU Library

Primo: the NMSU Library Discovery System

Use Primo to search the Library's collection of academic journals.

NMSU Primo Discovery Search
Use our new system!

Scholarly and Academic Databases

The following databases will give you a good starting point as you work on your research for this class. If you are not finding what you are looking for, try another database or feel free to ask us!

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers more than 12,000 of the world's premier scientific and scholarly journals, along with conference proceedings, book contents,and other materials. While its main focus is the sciences, it also includes arts and humanities and the social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for academic articles and books in many subscription journals and open access resources. Set your "Scholar Preferences" to find full text access at NMSU and other local or regional collections (see how at nmsu.libguides.com/scholar).

Connecting Google Scholar results with NMSU's journal subscriptions

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Many researchers are finding it handy to use Google Scholar to find references to journal citations. The steps outlined below describe how researchers at NMSU can customize Google Scholar to facilitate exporting the citations to EndNoteWeb.

First, about Google Scholar:

Allows one to search the FULL TEXT of journal articles from thousands of publishers. (The list of publishers that have allowed Google to search behind their firewalls has not been revealed).
You can configure the settings to link to articles for which NMSU Library holds a subscription
Many of the records are just links to citations not to the actual article; you will not be able to download these citations
Read more about Google Scholar: Comparison of Google Scholar, Web of Science, Scopus

Setting the preferences is necessary when using a computer with an off-campus IP address. This will let you use the New Mexico State University Library Full-Text @ NMSU links for citations as well as export the citations to EndNote Basic.

Go to Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com
Click on Settings:

For compatibility with EndNote Basic:
- Under Bibliography Manager, select Show links to Import citations into EndNote.

In the Library Links, search for New Mexico State University. Then choose
- New Mexico State University-Full-Text@NMSU
- Open WorldCat-Library Search