UlrichsWeb provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals including publisher, language, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, subject area and reviews written by librarians.
You can also run a search in Web of Science on your research area; click Analyze Results; select Source Titles; click on Analyze. The publications that are most published in will be listed. The more specific you are in the topic search, the better.
The NMSU Library does not have a subscription to the Journal Citation Reports (JCR), the primary source used for determining journal impact. Several alternative resources are listed here. Some publishers will provide the impact factor for their journals on their website.
A free and searchable database, Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more." The Eigenfactor is now included in Journal Citation Reports. It is listed here for use on its own. The 2014 Journal Rankings were published Feb. 2016. You may search for a journal title here. The Eigenfactor Score supplies information about the overall value of the articles within a journal for a particular year - while the Article Influence score measures a journal's prestige based on per article citations and is comparable to JCR's Journal Impact Factor.
Includes SNIP - Source Normalized Impact per Paper. SNIP measures contextual citation impact by weighting citations based on the total number of citations in a subject field. The impact of a single citation is given higher value in subject areas where citations are less likely, and vice versa. Also offers IPP metrics: the Impact per Publication. IPP measures the ratio of citations per article published in the journal.The IPP is not normalized for the subject field and therefore gives a raw indication of the average number of citation a publication published in the journal will likely receive.
A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database.You can search for a specific title or see the rankings of journals within a particular subject area. SJR only drills down to the subject level "Education" but if you want to find out the ranking of a known journal,you can lok at the below spreadsheet (downloaded from SJR's website) to see where it is. To see SJR US Ranked Education Journal List, use the link below.