Skip to main content

NMSU Library Special Collections

This guide features the book collections held by the New Mexico State University Library Archives & Special Collections Department

NMSU LIbrary Special Collections

Special Collections houses published research materials including books, periodicals, maps and newspapers relating to local, regional, and state history. Main areas of focus relates to the history, culture, peoples, and resources of New Mexico, Southwest, the Borderlands, and material supporting specialized University programs.

NMSU Library Archives and Special Collections, located on the fourth floor of the Branson Library, welcomes members of the campus and local community, as well as independent researchers. Appointments are not necessary; however, to provide better access and service, prior communication with members of our staff is helpful. Please note, Archives and Special Collections material does not circulate and is only available for use in the Caroline E. Stras Research Room.

For more information about planning your visit and accessing the collection please visit NMSU Library Archives & Special Collections 

The Collection contains a range of subjects an include a variety of materials, such as:

  • Astronomy
  • Borderlands History
  • Edward Gorey
  • New Mexico and Southwest History
  • New Mexico Fiction and Poetry
  • New Mexico Maps
  • New Mexico Newspapers
  • Ranching History
  • Railroads of New Mexico
  • Water of the West

Specific collections are listed on the left with more information and links to the catalog.