Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice

Library resources for Criminal Justice

Connecting Google Scholar results with NMSU's journal subscriptions

Many researchers are finding it handy to use Google Scholar to find references to journal citations. The steps outlined below describe how researchers at NMSU can customize Google Scholar to facilitate exporting the citations to EndNoteWeb.

First, about Google Scholar:

  • Allows one to search the FULL TEXT of journal articles from thousands of publishers. (The list of publishers that have allowed Google to search behind their firewalls has not been revealed).
  • You can configure the settings to link to articles for which NMSU Library holds a subscription
  • Many of the records are just links to citations not to the actual article; you will not be able to download these citations
  • Read more about Google Scholar: Comparison of Google Scholar, Web of Science, Scopus  

Setting the preferences is necessary when using a computer with an off-campus IP address. This will let you use the New Mexico State University Library Full-Text @ NMSU links for citations as well as export the citations to EndNote Basic.

  • Go to Google Scholar: https://scholar.google.com
  • Click on Settings:

  • For compatibility with EndNote Basic:
    • Under Bibliography Manager, select Show links to Import citations into EndNote.

  • In the Library Links, search for New Mexico State University. Then choose
    • ​​New Mexico State University-Full-Text@NMSU
    • Open WorldCat-Library Search

 

 

EndNote Basic

What is Endnote Basic (formerly called EndNote Web)

  • A place to create and keep a list (library) of citations
  • A tool to format bibliographies in a variety of styles-such as APA, MLA, CBE
  • A place to keep notes concerning specific citations
  • A resource that is available to you anywhere you have internet access
  • A tool that is free to you while you are at NMSU

Creating an Account

Once your account is created, you will be able to access EndNote Basic from any computer, anywhere (your account expires one year after you have last logged on at a university computer).

Adding References

  1. To add references from a library catalog: Collect -> Online Search
    • Click Customize this list to add the New Mexico State University Library's catalog to your favorites.
    • Search the catalog.
    • Retrieve results.
    • Use drop-down menu to add citations to your groups.
  2. To add references manually: Collect -> New Reference
    • Add references, filling out at least all mandatory fields.
  3. To add references from databases: Collect -> Import References
    • After exporting/saving references from a database (see following information), import references by choosing the appropriate file and format.
    • All Imported references will be filed in the [Unfiled] group.

Managing References

  • To add/edit/share groups (i.e. folders): Organize -> Manage My Groups
  • To move references from one group to another: My References
  • To find duplicate references: Organize -> Find Duplicates

Creating a Bibliography

Format -> Bibliography

  • Choose the group of references to be included in the bibliography
  • Choose the appropriate bibliographic style (click Customize this list to add styles to your favorites list)
  • Choose a file format for output.
  • Click Preview & Print to generate a bibliography that can be copied and pasted into a document.

Cite While You Write

To insert references, format citations, and format bibliographies automatically in Word:

Format -> Cite While You Write Plug-in

  • Access the Cite While You Write options via the Toolbars in Word (or via the Add-Ins tab in Word 2007)
  • Use the EndNote Basic Help screen for specific instructions

Internet Browser Plug-ins

  • At the bottom of any myendnoteweb.com page, click Download Installers
  • Download the appropriate plug-in(s) (the Internet Explorer plug-in is part of the Cite While You Write plug-in)
  • When browsing the Internet, use the Capture icon to launch an EndNote Basic reference entry