Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOG 361V: Economic Geography

Library Resources for GEOG 361

Many of your research resources are right here

Specific E-Books

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook is updated annually and is your authoritative source on the world's countries, territories, oceans, and more. Explore world facts at your fingertips.

Countries and Their Cultures, Carol R. Ember and Melvin Ember, eds. New York, NY: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001. 
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs, and maps. 4 volumes.

Credo Reference
Credo is a collection of many different reference sources. It is very current and offers a wide variety of approaches to your selected region. The BEST way to search is to type in your region and then narrow down by choosing Advanced Search (upper right) to focus on subtopics such as Geography and Economics. You should also narrow your region by publication year.  

Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia, John F. McCoy, ed. 3rded. Detroit, MI: Gale, 2003. 
The 3rd edition of this comprehensive resource, now published by Gale, provides entries on the physical geography of every country in the world plus other selected locations. Each entry features a relief map depicting the geography of the location plus detailed text that describes its features, climate and vegetation. Entries are formatted with standardized rubrics to facilitate comparison.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy, Kenneth A. Reinert and Ramkishen S. Rajan, eds. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2009.

Includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby, eds. 2nded. Detroit, MI: Gale, 2009.
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas, and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.

 

Reference Books (Selected List) - Located in Zuhl Library, 1st floor