Skip to Main Content

Digital Collections at NMSU

A guide to the digital collections available through the New Mexico State University Library, background on the collections, and general information regarding digital collections.

Featured Collections

publication cover featuring woman holding plant

ACES Historical Publications

New Mexico Extension News cover, November 1955.

Clyde Tombaugh holding models

NMSU Department of Astronomy: Clyde W. Tombaugh Papers

Clyde Tombaugh with globes at New Mexico State University, 1961.

pair of fossilized fish

Zuhl Geological Collection

Fossil Fish, (Diplomystus dentatus), Cenozoic, Paleogene, Eocene. This is the second most common fish in Fossil Lake.

Have Ideas? Tell Us!

Have an idea for a digital project? We'd love to hear about it!

digprojhelp@nmsu.edu

Need Help? Ask Us!

Panoramic view of Las Cruces, NM. Photographic Collections, John L. Gregg papers, 03950237.

8th Calvary on Review, Receiving the 71 Regiment Trophy for Competition on Rapid and Skirmish Fire - Won by 8th Calvary Regimental, Fort Bliss, TX, October 1919. Photographic Collections, George Bishop photographs and papers, 04090546.

1915 Chicago Cubs baseball team. Photographic Collections, Gustav L. Seligmann family papers, 02569999.

Why create your own digital collection

Why create your digital collection

Creating your own digital collection can be a fun and challenging undertaking. People usually create collections for multiple reasons. The most common reasons are: documenting and preserving history, sharing history for future generations in hopes of influencing the future, and providing access to remote researchers. Some examples of personal digital collections include family photos and mementos, collectible items, items associated with a specific event, and community history. 

How to create your own digital collection

Undertaking your own digital collections project involves answering a number of questions, such as what is the purpose of your collection, selecting a platform for the collection, and understanding standards and best practices for scanning images and creating metadata. This guide focuses on these considerations and offers information to help you get started on your digital collection.