LibGuides: Public History: Museum Studies

Find Articles

Databases

Databases can yield search results in the hundreds. To locate relevant sources quickly and efficiently, consider using database advance search options. Narrow your results by publication date, language, subject, author, full text, etc. If you find you're still overwhelmed, ask a librarian for research assistance.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and popular periodicals from most academic areas of study and includes many full-text articles.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A trusted full-text database covering all areas of hospitality and tourism, including hospitality law, market trends and hotel management. In addition to full-text journals, it provides magazines, company and country reports, books and newspapers.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Digital Public Library of America
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. The copyright status of items in the DPLA varies. Many items are in the public domain. For individual rights information about an item, please check the Rights field in the metadata or follow the link to the digital object on the content provider’s website for more information.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress Digital Collections contains resources from the collections of the Library of Congress that document the American experience.

Journals

This list is not comprehensive. Visit the NMSU Library online to search journal titles. If you can't find what you're looking for, expand your search terms. Museum studies is interdisciplinary so think outside of the box.

The Public Historian
Curator: The Museum Journal
Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies
Journal of Hospitality and Tourism
Journal of the American Institute for Conservation
Museum Management and Curatorship
Museums Journal (UK)
Some content requires paid subscription.

Online Resources

Institute of Museum Ethics
General texts on museum ethics (bibliography).
Smithsonian Institution: Museum Studies
Identified selected readings including "A Dozen Books Every Museum Should Own," frequently asked questions, news, fellowships, and links to SI museums.

Professional Organizations

New Mexico Association of Museums
The New Mexico Association of Museums is a volunteer-run professional interest group for those working in museums and museum-related fields.
Mountain-Plains Museum Association
The Mountain-Plains Museums Association (MPMA) is a regional organization of museums and museum professionals that advocates excellence in the field, provides a forum for communication between its members, and shares creative learning opportunities with the region's diverse audiences.
Western Museums Association
The Western Museums Association (WMA) is a nonprofit, membership organization dedicated to serving museums, museum professionals, as well as the related organizations and individuals, by providing vision, enrichment, intellectual challenge, and a forum for communication and interaction.
American Alliance of Museums
The American Alliance of Museums (formerly the American Association of Museums) is the one organization that supports all museums. Through advocacy and excellence, the Alliance strengthens the museum community.
National Association for Museum Exhibitions
NAME seeks to enhance the cultural landscape by advancing the value and relevance of exhibitions through dialogue among individuals, museum leaders and the public. We promote excellence and best practices, identify trends and recent innovations, provide access to resources, promote professional development and cultivate leadership.