Government Information

Statistical Agencies & Websites

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Find information on such issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Presents data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Presents data on labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Presents data on all modes of transportation.
Census.gov
Extensive collection of statistical reports and data about U.S. people and economics.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Data and statistics categorized by broad topic. Page also provides links to additional sources of health data.
Childstats.gov
Presents statistics on children and families, including: family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Congressional Budget Office
The CBO provides the Congress with analyses to aid in economic and budgetary process. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.
Data.gov
Allows users to locate, download and utilize datasets generated by Executive Branch agencies.
DataWeb
Provides easy access to data from disparate locations across the internet. It brings together demographic, economic, environmental, health, and other datasets that are usually separated by geography and/or organization.
Department of Defense (Defense Management Data Center)
Contains links to sites with statistical information and published reports on subjects such as U.S. military casualties (DCAS), aggregated roster immunization reports (ICRS), and military training and readiness reports (START).
Economic Research Service
Statistics related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development.
Election Statistics
Official vote counts for federal elections
Energy Information Administration
Data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.
ForeignAssistance.gov
Presents data about the U.S. government's foreign assistance funding. Data is viewable by country, sector, or year and can also be queried for user-generated tables.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Presents statistics covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
National Center for Education Statistics
Presents statistics and reports related to education, literacy and libraries.
National Center for Health Statistics
Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.
Office of Immigration Statistics
Presents data on immigrants by legal status.
Usa.gov
Data and statistics by topic.

Data & Statistics

The United States government produces data and statistics on a wide range of subjects. These include agriculture, population, health, education, crime, transportation, and labor. This information comes from a variety of agencies including the Census Bureau, Bureau of Justice, Bureau of Transportation, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and more. This guide is designed to gather this statistical data from these varied sources in one place. State and local data and statistics can also be found here. Please contact the government documents department if you need further assistance.

Major Publications

Agricultural Statistics, Annual
Offers statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
American Housing Survey
Provides data on selected housing and demographic characteristics.
Annual Energy Review
Includes data on total energy production, consumption, and trade; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, electricity, nuclear energy, renewable energy, as well as financial and environmental indicators.
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
CDC Wonder
CDC WONDER provides access to a wide variety of CDC reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data. Vital and health related statistical data sets included are: AIDS cases reported by state and local health departments, SEER (cancer surveillance, epidemiology and end results), ICD9 Finder (disease by classification number), state injury mortality data, mortality, natality, sexually transmitted disease morbidity, and tuberculosis surveillance
Condition of Education
Presents statistical indicators containing text, figures, and tables describing important developments in the status and trends of education from early childhood learning through graduate-level education.
Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects in the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, federal funds for education, libraries, and international education.
Economic Report of the President
Annual report that overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
FastStats
Provides statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.
Health, United States
An annual report on trends in health statistics. Website archives issues back to 1975.
Monthly Labor Review
Presents research in a wide variety of fields—the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and many more.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Provides career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.
SEER
The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program of the National Cancer Institute is a premier source for cancer statistics in the United States
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1891-2012)
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (2013-present)
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. This database replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication.
Survey of Current Business
Presents the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates.
Treasury Bulletin
Presents data and narrative related to Treasury issues, federal financial operations, international statistics, liabilities, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides access to FBI statistical publications, including Crime in the United States and Hate Crime Statistics, 1995-present.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides annual data on foreign nationals who were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns.

New Mexico Statistics & Data

About the County (Dona-Ana County Information)
Bureau of Business and Economic Research
The Bureau of Business and Economic Research (BBER) at the University of New Mexico is committed to contributing to the understanding of economic and demographic issues in New Mexico by collecting and disseminating information, providing technical expertise, and analyzing and conducting applied research for a diverse constituency including community organizations, businesses, labor unions, government officials, academia, students and others.
As an affiliate New Mexico State University has access to special reports and data. Contact the Business Librarian for additional information.
Las Cruces, New Mexico Quick Facts
Basic population, housing, economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions
The Economic Research and Analysis Bureau produces labor market information by collecting, analyzing, reporting and publishing of information about economic conditions and trends such as the unemployment rate, job growth and wage levels. Select the Labor Market Information tab for research and data.
New Mexico Fact Sheet (From the USDA Economic Research Service)
Includes information on population and education as well as farming and commodities.
New Mexico Health Data
Health data at the state and community levels, provided by the New Mexico Department of Health.
New Mexico Quick Facts
State and county "quick facts" from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes basic data on population, business, housing, and geography.